Ravin’ about Ravens

23 May

(I’m sorry, I just couldn’t resist such a fun pun!)

Something to talk about

This Raven was walking around chatting up a storm with . . . well . . . himself (or heself — after all, how can one tell?). He didn’t seem to mind me much and the sun was right to see that it had features and eyes and wasn’t just a black blob out there.

Got to get just the right angle

I love this shot of him getting just the right angle on things. I took a bunch of burst mode shots so I know that he took a long time getting just the right angle.

Raven close-up

I did a close-up of the bird above becuase the patterns of his feathers is so beautiful. Also, check out those loverly toenails. Wow!

End of the school year madness is catching up with me but I’m trying to stay sane, take pictures, and blog a little. Can’t make promises, but I’m trying!

10 Responses to “Ravin’ about Ravens”

  1. Mary 24 May, 2007 at 5:50 am #

    Good title! You know I’ve been fussing about black birds lately, but I must say that Raven is surely a beauty! I’d be thrilled to see one here.

  2. Lynne from Hasty Brook 24 May, 2007 at 5:50 am #

    I love it when you post raven pictures. They are so shy and hard to observe in norhtern Minnesota. Their feet look quite heavy and yes the patterns in the feathers are really cool.
    I’m a bit nuts at home right now too- hang in!

  3. robin andrea 24 May, 2007 at 6:32 am #

    We get crows and lots of them, but not the lovely raven. Always glad to see a pic of yours.

  4. lizalee 24 May, 2007 at 11:12 am #

    Oh, and Happy Birthday Buddha!

    And, thanks, guys! I’m glad that you guys enjoy the Ravens as well — I thoroughly enjoy them!

  5. NatureWoman 24 May, 2007 at 12:14 pm #

    I love ravens and I love your photos Lizalee! They’re such a cool bird!

  6. Sandy 24 May, 2007 at 1:10 pm #

    I can’t tell them apart, either, but I love them.

  7. mon@rch 24 May, 2007 at 4:57 pm #

    so many amazing photos of the raven! ours never even let is look at them before they fly away!

  8. Susan Gets Native 24 May, 2007 at 7:11 pm #

    I forgot it was the Buddha’s birthday! I have tried to be a Buddhist, but my brain refuses to turn off enough for me to make any real progress.

    Love the raven…check out the dusty feet!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I And The Bird #50 [A Blog Around The Clock] · Kokorec - 30 May, 2007

    [...] from The Egret’s Nest is Ravin’ about Ravens, one of my favourite birds. Great [...]

  2. I And The Bird #50 [A Blog Around The Clock] · New York Articles - 30 May, 2007

    [...] from The Egret’s Nest is Ravin’ about Ravens, one of my favourite birds. Great [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

