Archive | 12:49 pm

i and the bird

23 Jul

Black-Crowned Night-Heron

 Harumph!  You woke me up from a nap and you STILL haven’t sent in your submission for i and the bird!

What is wrong with you?  Do it RIGHT now!

Send them to lizaleemiller AT gmail DOT com.

Choices

23 Jul

Looking up

Friday morning, my father-in-law made the choice to end his battle with cancer.  My sister-in-law called Hospice and they moved quickly.  By the time I got there on Friday afternoon, a Hospice nurse had been there to talk to my husband, his sister, mother, and his aunt at length.   Within a couple of hours, a hospital bed was delivered, drugs to keep him comfortable were on hand, and he was settled and sleeping fairly peacefully.

Saturday was our bi-monthly Crafty Chix day.  My mother, sister, mother-in-law, sister-in-law and I get together and do something crafty and fun.  We eat good food, we talk good talk, and we create good stuff. We went ahead and did it at my mother-in-law’s house anyway.  My wonderful step-father took ALL the grandkids to the Boardwalk (amusement park at the beach).  Greg worked in the dining room all day.  My father-in-law lay in the living room in a morphine-enhanced sleep listening to the sound of laughter and love all around him.  We went home late on Saturday night to sleep.  My sister-in-law stayed with her mother and father.

She called at a little after 6am to let us know that his breathing was labored and hospice thought it might be soon.  Greg hurried over and I stayed with my parents and kids.  Greg called me just after 7 to let me know that it was over.

My father-in-law was a good man.   He was loved and he is missed.  But, thankfully, his suffering is over and the choices he made about how to end his life were honored.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.