A Most Unusual Day of Birdwatching . . .

14 Oct

 

Saturday, I went bird-watching. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more eclectic bunch of birds in my life. Rarities abounded. My birdwatching location was the Pacific International Quilt Festival. It turns out that quilters are bird lovers as well. Below is a small sampling of the quilts that I saw at the show with birds in them. I saw many more. There are pictures of many others in my Flickr account {click}. You can click on any of the images below to see a much larger version of it.

Planet PelicanPlanet Pelican by Patricia Anderson Turner

The world of quilting has grown and changed dramatically over the last few years. Art quilts now dominate the quilt shows. These quilts are all examples of art quilts. They are intended to be hung on the wall as art — not put on the bed for warmth. The basic concept of a quilt is that of a fabric sandwich with batting on the inside. The techniques used to make these quilts are quite varied — from applique to embroidery to beading to painting to photography to computer-enhancement to machine quilting to hand quilting . . . it is very hard to pin down these amazing quilts (pun intended!).

Vultures of WarVultures of War by Eva Henneberry

I dabble at art quilts. Someday, I hope to be good enough to enter something at this show. Until then, I love going to the show and looking around in awe at the amazing artwork presented there.

Eagle RidgeEagle Ridge by Joanne BaethIn this quilt, the baby chicks were soft and fuzzy — done in a fuzzy fleece of some kind. So cute!

Three Guinea FowlThree Guinea Fowl by Pamela AllenI loved these pinky Guinea fowl! So fun!

Standing Room OnlyStanding Room Only by Elisheva Bailey

Moonlight SonataMoonlight Sonata by Barbara Shapel

Blue-Footed Booby A-LandingBlue-Footed Booby A-Landing by Diane May

Are you in awe of these artists too? I was thrilled to find so many bird quilts to photograph. It was inspirational. Evidently quilting and birdwatching are totally compatible activities. Don’t forget that there are a lot more of these birdy quilts at my Flickr account {click}.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Please respect the work of these amazing artists. This imagery is copyrighted by them.

11 Responses to “A Most Unusual Day of Birdwatching . . .”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook 15 October, 2007 at 7:14 am #

    Gorgeous quilts! I am in awe.
    I especially like the turkey vulture quilt!

  2. Pam 15 October, 2007 at 7:45 am #

    These are absolutely gorgeous!!! I know how much work these are because I love to quilt, too!

  3. robin andrea 15 October, 2007 at 8:02 am #

    Wow! The quilts are gorgeous. They are truly works of art.

  4. BEG 15 October, 2007 at 9:44 am #

    Lovely lovely quilts and yes I’d like to do something like this sometime. I especially like the penguins one, it’s got a simplicity about it that’s cool. But they are ALL lovely…

  5. Mary 16 October, 2007 at 7:29 am #

    The heron is my favorite but they are all exquisite!

  6. mon@rch 16 October, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    Different kind of bird watching for sure! LOL

  7. Laura 16 October, 2007 at 7:17 pm #

    Oooh oooh – I want! So beautiful!

  8. Aster Vaughn 2 April, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Great post about different kinds of birds ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Search and Serendipity: A Birder’s Blog » I and the Bird #60 - 18 October, 2007

    [...] abounded … at the quilt festival, reports Liza Lee. I want a Blue-footed Booby [...]

  2. Impressions of a Quilt Show « The Egret’s Nest - 28 February, 2008

    [...] life. This is a small show — only 7oo+ quilts rather than the thousands that I saw at the big quilt show in October. I didn’t see enough bird quilts to do an entire posting of them this time. Quilts [...]

  3. Gorgeous bird art « The Egret’s Nest - 29 February, 2008

    [...] Being at the Quilt Show last weekend, got me thinking about bird art again. I revisited the post I did from the Pacific International Quilt show and was impressed again by the interpretation of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

