Which is my best side?

21 Jan

Common Merganser
First from this side

A delightful find on a Saturday. Sure, they are common but still, they are beautiful. This one was so cooperative. It was swimming on a little pond where my mother-in-law lives with a Common Goldeneye. The Goldeneye is not cooperative about pictures. So, you can’t see it. To learn more about Common Mergansers and their less common Merganser cousins, go visit my friends at 10,000 Birds.

Merganser
Now from this side

12 Responses to “Which is my best side?”

  1. Tom 21 January, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    Liza,

    Nice shot of this merganser. I saw dozens of hooded mergansers today and would love to have a shot of them like your picture above…I couldn’t get within a few hundred feet of the hoodeds!

    Tom

  2. Corey 21 January, 2008 at 6:10 pm #

    Beats the heck out of any merganser shot I’ve ever gotten.

    Nice pics!

  3. mary 21 January, 2008 at 6:18 pm #

    Great photos, Liza! Much better than the crappy duck photos I take. They are new to me. Just lovely.

  4. KGMom 21 January, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    Love that pose–ready for my close-up, Mr. De Mille.
    I love the quality of the water too.

  5. Liza Lee Miller 21 January, 2008 at 6:34 pm #

    Okay, true confessions time, friends. I took this shot through the windshield of my car. Lazy birding. Lazy photography. And, it worked! :)

  6. Wende 21 January, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    Hey! I came here in search of crocheting wonder. Where’s your WIP photos? My god, I’ll whip you into a craft blogger yet. Ha ha ha!

  7. Wende 21 January, 2008 at 8:43 pm #

    And that should be “where are”. Plurals and verbs should match. Sometimes.

  8. Miz S 22 January, 2008 at 3:38 am #

    So…did you get all that lesson-planning done?

  9. jayne 22 January, 2008 at 3:49 am #

    Oh wow! Beautiful Liza, just beautiful!

  10. Greg 24 January, 2008 at 8:22 am #

    How did your mother-in-law come to live with a Common goldeneye? Just kidding…great pix. I’ve never seen the bills so vivid.

  11. bevson 26 January, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    OMG. Fabulous pix. How do you get them that size in WordPress? I can only get thumbnails. Could you stop over and take a look? http://www.behindthebins.wordpress.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I and the Bird #67: Let’s all go on a birding holiday - 24 January, 2008

    [...] of a bird from inside a car – Liza Lee Miller was lucky enough to get these great shots of a Common Merganser. Sometimes you just get extra lucky and the bird poses just [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

