Have you ever fallen in love?

17 Apr

With a house?

Or rather a piece of property?

dreamproperty

dreamproperty

dreamproperty

Pros. Six acres. Private cul de sac. Swimming pool. Seasonal creek. Huge blooming meadow. Redwoods. Gigantic oak. A little slice of heaven.

Cons. There is a ton of deferred maintenance. The house was built in the ’80’s and hasn’t been updated since. There isn’t an office for Greg so we’d have to take care of that. Etc. Oh, and it costs too much money.

Still I’m mentally buying chickens and wondering if I could talk Greg into getting an alpaca or maybe a bunny would be better. It’s the house-lust equivalent of picking out china patterns and writing Mrs Greg Miller 1000 times on my notebook cover. I am in love.

But, sadly, we are just not ready financially to make a move right now. In 18 months, we probably would leap at it. But, not just yet.

Do I need to tell you how amazing the birding was for the 40 min we walked around it?

Heavy sigh.

Update: We went back and looked at it again with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. It’s an amazing piece of property. And, we desperately want to make it happen but the timing isn’t right and the money doesn’t work. So I have to let go of this particular fantasy — but I think I’ll feel an ache in my heart every time I drive by that turn in the road.

Updated Update: We drove by again tonight. There was a deer grazing in the front yard. I think I saw a Western Meadowlark on the fence. We’re fantasizing about whether or not we could make it work if we bought it with my mother-in-law. I still don’t think it will work. Fantasy is good though. Or so I keep telling myself!

9 Responses to “Have you ever fallen in love?”

  1. jayne 17 April, 2008 at 2:38 am #

    I’ll just say, if it’s meant to be… you’ll know it and it will work out. Who knows? Maybe, just maybe in 18 months, there is even a better one down the road. (Ha! Sounds like what my mom said when my heart was broken over a boy.)

  2. Bobbie 17 April, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    Your photos are so lovely, I understand why you fell in love with the place.
    Yes, it sounds familiar to me. In fact, I hope you don’t mind if I use the idea for a post. But the difference is, you have someone with whom to dream about what you might do.
    Jayne is right of course. If it’s meant to be it will be. If not, time will show you why.

  3. robin andrea 17 April, 2008 at 7:28 am #

    That’s a gorgeous piece of property. I wish you could buy it and make it your own. That looks just like the place of my dreams too.

  4. Trixie 17 April, 2008 at 9:20 am #

    And you would build a small, teeny tiny guest house so I could once again enjoy the central coast, right???

  5. Liza Lee Miller 17 April, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    Yes, if it is meant to be, it will be. But, I’m quite sure it isn’t meant to be yet. Oh, but Trixie — don’t forget, we have the motorhome! You can come visit anytime! :)

  6. roger 18 April, 2008 at 6:09 am #

    it looks so good that we found the particulars on mls. too much $ for us too. maybe the coming recession will lower the price enough for you to buy it.

  7. Wende 18 April, 2008 at 6:14 am #

    Oh, I do know that feeling. Sometimes, a property just sings to you.

    In my case, lately, it’s been whole towns. And again, timing isn’t right.

    I’ll be holding good thoughts for you, though. Sometimes, the Universe does open wide and grant our heart’s desires. You know? :D

  8. BEG 18 April, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    That’s a gorgeous piece of property!

    But you know, with the current housing slump? I don’t think this will bottom out for a while longer, I think it will continue for another two maybe three years. At that point, it may come together perfectly! Who knows.

    But I’d be daydreaming too!

  9. Liza Lee Miller 18 April, 2008 at 5:50 pm #

    Hey now, Roger! No poaching my property!!! :) Seriously though, it’s too much money for us. We may well offer what we can afford though — after all, it doesn’t hurt to make an offer. The only trouble with counting on the economy’s downturn to make all this happen is that it requires the sale of two properties to make it all happen — so the slowing economy might bring the price of this property down but would also lower our houses’ values too. Net sum loss. Still, we aren’t without hope.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

