Well, look who we’ve got here . . .

9 Jul

P1200893

Hello.  I’m a marmot.  It’s very nice to meet you.

P1200988

I’m a yellow-bellied marmot to be specific.  Do you see my yellow belly?  Some people think yellow belly means coward.  However, I am not a coward and I don’t want to hear anyone talking that way, you hear?

P1200993

I am a watchful and careful creature but I am not a coward.

P1200892

I have a family to take care of, after all.  I have a mate and four cute little marmot babies.

P1200879

By the way, do you see how beautiful I am?  I have a long fluffy tail.

Yellow-bellied Marmot family

Like any babies, they are cute and cuddly and sometimes annoying.

P1200888

When we are outside, we stay under trees and we watch.  We watch carefully and if anything seems off, I give a warning.

Oh, you want to pay attention to my warnings.

P1200878

When I give an alert, I get up on my haunches and put my hands on my hips and I chirp.

Loudly.  I chirp really, really loudly.

Ruby exploring

This makes me chirp.  This is a dangerous creature and must be watched and warned to stay away from my babies.

P1200871

I have to tell you.  That thing did not listen to my warnings.  That thing kept watching us back.  It kept trying to chase us.  Most annoying.  I chirped really loudly.

The humans tried to keep it away from us but sometimes it would sneak away and chase us anyway.

I spent a lot of time on my haunches with my hands on my hips.  I chirped a lot.

9 Responses to “Well, look who we’ve got here . . .”

  1. KGMom 9 July, 2009 at 3:46 am #

    What a fun post. Ruby Tuesday must have been most frustrated. I hope marmots are not inclined to attack small vigilant dogs.

  2. Wren 9 July, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    Great post – the world according to Marmot.

  3. robin andrea 9 July, 2009 at 6:44 am #

    What a good, protective mama marmot.

  4. Jody 9 July, 2009 at 7:21 am #

    This is sooo funny. Thanks for the needed laugh this morning.

  5. Leslie 9 July, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    What a wonderful story. Marmots are intriguing animals, with fun personalities. I’ve seen them wrestle with each other just like dogs. And that chirp is certainly difficult to ignore!

  6. Lynne at Hasty Brook 9 July, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    This is great Liza! I love the hands on hips stance!

  7. Ruthie 9 July, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    Ha ha! Yes, that mama marmot DID spend a lot of time on her haunches chirping!

  8. Jayne 11 July, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    Oh, how cute! I’ll bet Ruby was soooo wanting to “visit” with them!

  9. Vickie Henderson 23 July, 2009 at 6:03 pm #

    That is so funny! So delightful to see him with paws on hips. How fun to beable to see the whole family.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

