Sometimes you can’t do enough

20 Jul

Regular Visitor

Last night, it was really hot and we had all our windows open.  As we sat reading, we heard a huge ruckus in the back yard.  It was enough noise and excitement that we had to go check it out.  We don’t know exactly what happened but birds were squawking their heads off.  Two birds were in the redwood trees squawking and Ruby was checking out something on the ground.  I realized it was a fledgling that had come out of it’s nest.  The parents were up in arms and the baby was pretty scared.

Robin enjoying the evening gloom

I tried to get the fledgling (actually it was PRE-fledgling) but I was hesitent and didn’t get it.  It made it out of the yard.  I realized then that I’d better let it be and we all went inside.  I hope the parents found the poor little thing.  I went out later in the full dark with my flashlight and looked for it but I couldn’t find anything.

The fledgling was kind of large.  Given who lives in my yard, I think it was either a California Towhee or an American Robin (hence their appearance in this post).  I wish I could have helped the baby but sometimes it’s a matter of doing less harm than more good.

3 Responses to “Sometimes you can’t do enough”

  1. KGMom 20 July, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    It is so hard to know, isn’t it. The temptation is so strong to interfere in nature.

  2. Kim 4 August, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    I was happy to come across your entry. I had a similar experience just last night. Fledgling towhee on my patio and parents calling, lots of noise next to the house. The fledgling hopped really well but couldn’t fly. Because of the neighborhood cats and raccoons etc. I kept it indoors all night in a safe box and brought it to a rescue shelter where I learned a lot more. Old enough to be out of the nest, but probably still being fed by the parents. Tail not long enough to be able to fly yet. Sleeps soundly – I discovered that when I checked on it
    during the night! Standing up but eyes closed and sound asleep which I was told makes these birds more vulnerable. I was told to try to find the nest but I don’t think that will be possible and the shelter was not having any luck getting it to open its mouth as a very young bird would do. I am not sure what will happen next, I am supposed to call when I get home tonight. Would take about 3 weeks of care till the tail is long enough to fly, and the towhee nests close to the ground anyway.

    • Liza Lee Miller 6 August, 2009 at 6:58 am #

      You did everything you could! I’m sure the shelter will figure it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

