Fall has fallen

14 Sep

P1210902

The end of our summer has been long and hot.  In my non-air-conditioned-because-we-are-too-close-to-the-coast classroom, my students and I have been sweltering.  I’ve had kids go home sick because of the heat.  Miserable.

I am not one who enjoys hot weather with good grace.

I prefer spring and fall.  Perfect temperatures, perfectly wonderful skies, and perfectly delightful color all around me.

So, the rain that finally fell today was celebrated in my house today.  We stopped making dinner and ran outside and enjoyed the rain.  I could just feel my garden going, “Ahhhhhh!  Finally.”  The earth was opening and relaxing.  My roses and pomegranate were unwilting.  My maples softened their scorched leaves.  The redwoods heaved a huge sigh of relief and oxygen.

Later, with windows open all over the house, we heard the rain really fall, so I went out on my porch and listened.

I think that I will become famous for my videos which are all dark and filled with sound.

I did look for a bird enjoying the rain but my children were also out enjoying the rain and therefore birds were not in great abundance.  Thank goodness for Flickr Photostreams.

Chickadee in the rain

For more birdies in the rain, please visit Bird Photography Weekly!

12 Responses to “Fall has fallen”

  1. kelly 14 September, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    …beautiful shots! The leaves are so pretty and the chickadee in the rain, so cute! I enjoyed listening to the rain…we need it here as well.

  2. robin andrea 14 September, 2009 at 7:04 am #

    We had some rain here all night in Grass Valley. A lovely, soft sound. It relieves us of some of our fire fears, and notice that everything breathes a sigh of relief. Lovely pics.

  3. gwendolen 14 September, 2009 at 7:18 am #

    LOL, I love the video :D

  4. wende 14 September, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    gorgeous maple! We’re officially in fall as well.

  5. Amy 14 September, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    Nothing like a big rain when you really need it! Glad you’re cooling off, finally.

  6. Amy 14 September, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Nothing like a big rain when you really need it! Glad you’re cooling off, finally.
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

  7. Wren 15 September, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    Is that a chestnut-backed chickadee? We don’t have them here in the east, so it’s a treat to have a nice close look at one.

    • Liza Lee Miller 16 September, 2009 at 5:30 am #

      It is, Wren. Chestnut-backed Chickadees are my most common yard bird. I never get tired of seeing them, though,

  8. Rambling Woods 16 September, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    Hello…I am a retired teacher… I love this post as I too like to add little video clips to my posts and the rain is so relaxing… Our students don’t start back to school until after Labor Day so we don’t usually get that much heat. But hot kids don’t learn well…. Michelle

  9. Ruthie 16 September, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    Yes the sound of rain is beautiful… aaahhhhhh, bliss…

  10. BookWorm 16 September, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Wow! I can’t believe it’s finally raining!!! Hallelujah!!

  11. Imagiator 16 September, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    Hee Hee!! Isn’t Ruthie your daughter?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

