Archive | 8:19 pm

Look what I almost stepped on

16 Aug
Garter Snake photo

Garter Snake at school

I don’t know which one of us was more startled as I nearly stepped on this guy.  He was flattened out, soaking up heat from the cement.  He thought if he didn’t move, I wouldn’t see him.  He was firm in that conviction.  He held on to that thought as I stopped and said, “Oh my goodness!”  He continued to believe as I set my basket down and fumbled for my iPhone.  He had deep faith as I snapped a picture of him.

His belief was finally broken when I decided he’d better scoot off the path and touched him gently near that last big curve.  He scurried on his way but tossed baleful glances my way.

I couldn’t blame him.  Who likes to have their faith destroyed?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.