Ruby Tuesday! Now with Warnings!

15 May

Ruby suggests Constant VigilanceAs a public service, Ruby wants to bring an article to your attention. {click}. Ruby wants you to understand that she knows that squirrels are cute and fuzzy but they are also a menace! Be careful out there, people!

And, be careful out there . . . moles.

WARNING! RAW, GRAPHIC NATURE FOOTAGE FOLLOWS! READ AT OWN RISK!

At work Monday, I received the following email from my husband:

From:   Greg
Subject: Ruby made a kill

Date: May 14, 2007 10:16:52 AM PDT

To:  Liza
Well not yet, actually.It was quiet in here.   Too quiet.
So I went to find Ruby and she was in the back yard with
a Mole in her mouth.   The poor thing is not dead.
Ruby does not seem to know exactly what she is supposed
to do with it now that she has caught it.
Yikes!

I wrote back:

YIKES indeed!  Did you help her kill it?
Check her carefully for bites, please!

He replied:

I think she let it go.   It's gone.
She must have a soft mouth like a Labrador.
I don't see any bites or blood.

Oh boy. So when I came home at lunch, I searched the backyard and saw no sign of the mole. Ruby didn’t have any marks on her. Greg said he went back out (after taking PICTURES!!!) to figure out what to do — either dispatch it himself if it were hurt or get Ruby to leave it alone if he could. And, it was gone and Ruby was fine. He said she clearly didn’t know what to do with it when she caught it.

Ruby and the Mole

Ruby and the Mole

8 Responses to “Ruby Tuesday! Now with Warnings!”

  1. jayne 15 May, 2007 at 2:50 am #

    Well, Ruby was being… Ruby! I am certainly glad she was not bit…yikes!

  2. Mary 15 May, 2007 at 4:48 am #

    Good job, Ruby!

    Chloe had a mole in her mouth and when I told her to “drop”, she wiggled with glee, as if she won a prize. I had to dangle a leftover pork chop so she would release. It was dead.

  3. robin andrea 15 May, 2007 at 6:30 am #

    Our cat brings in live voles and then releases them in the house so he can chase them. I’ve had to catch these things and put them outside where they die. I wouldn’t mind our cat killing them if he would eat them, but he doesn’t eat them. When they stop running he loses interest.

  4. lizalee 15 May, 2007 at 7:02 am #

    Thanks for understanding that Ruby was just “doing a-what comes naturally” — still, it was a shock. I know it’s not a squirrel but I’d happily convinced myself she wouldn’t catch anything because the squirrels are so fast. Moles, on the other hand, not fast. Still, I wish she’d kill them or leave them alone — the torture of them is a bit of an issue for me.

  5. Lynne from Hasty Brook 15 May, 2007 at 7:20 am #

    You are right in that Ruby was following her instincts to hunt. It’s hard to watch but she’s not being a bad dog.

  6. NatureWoman 15 May, 2007 at 12:18 pm #

    Reminds me of a dog chasing a duck down the road yesterday. I knew the dog was just doing what comes naturally even though I felt really bad for the duck.

  7. mon@rch 15 May, 2007 at 3:25 pm #

    Ooo Ruby!! Guess if that’s what Ruby needed to do! My cats stay inside and they still find things to eat (including spiders).

  8. susangetsnative 15 May, 2007 at 7:06 pm #

    Good girl, Ruby. But try to kill house sparrows and starlings next time. They are good on crackers.

Leave a Reply

