An attempt at procrastination

21 May

Thanks to Miz S {click} who handed me a lovely way to procrastinate writing in detail about my trip.  You see, I have taken 273 photographs.  I’m sure that upwards of 10 of them will be worthy of saving but I haven’t had time to go through them all yet.  Well, that’s not entirely true — I could have done it last night but I was busy watching StarGate Atlantis and two episodes of Lost with my honey.  Sometimes snuggling on the couch with a big bowl of popcorn is more important.

So, anyway, back to the procrastination . . .

A meme in which I tell you 8 random things about myself.  As Miz S said . . . why 8?  Well, as it happens, 8 is my favorite number so I’ll answer . . . why not 8?

  1. My hair was terminally straight until I had my children.  It got curlier with each child — but in patches.  With Ruth, the back 1/3 of my hair got curly (wavy) and with Gage it went almost around to the front.  I should have had a third child to finish the curliness of my hair but Greg and I felt that fixing my hair was not a legitimate reason to have another child.  I suspect, however, that there are other people out there who have had children for worse reasons.
  2. I have a bad spider bite on my right knee.  I got it this weekend at some point.  It is the kind that hurts, itches, and stings all at once.  Thankfully, it didn’t make me sick.
  3. My eyes are blue or green.  They change color depending on what I am wearing.  I suppose I could tell people they are teal — but they aren’t really ever blue and green at the same time.
  4. I am probably going to teach Summer School in a nearby city where Spanish is the predominant language.  I don’t speak Spanish and will be learning it as I drive to and from.  Two summers ago, I taught there without learning Spanish and found that my old high school French kept trying to come out of my mouth.
  5. I am 5’4″ tall.
  6. I love the color pink beyond all reason.  I am grateful that I can wear pink because I would wear it anyway.
  7. I cherish my alone time in the morning and get unreasonably angry when it is interupted by children, dogs, or husbands.
  8.  I love reading Science Fiction novels because I find them so hopeful.

If you want to participate . . . consider yourself tagged.  If you don’t want to participate, well, I can’t say I blame you.  Procrastination isn’t for everyone!  This was harder than I thought anyway.  Sheesh — took me 15 minutes to tell you 8 things about myself.  Somewhere along the line, I decided they had to be at least moderately INTERESTING things (although #5 certainly is not! :).

7 Responses to “An attempt at procrastination”

  1. robin andrea 21 May, 2007 at 7:23 am #

    I always like when people tell things about themselves. I have done a few memes like this one, and now that I think about it, I should probably put a link to them in the “About Me” section on the blog.

  2. jayne 21 May, 2007 at 8:44 am #

    Okiedoekie then… here we go:

    1. I am early to a fault. Always will be. It’s genetic.
    2. I never appreciate my talents as much as others seem to.
    3. I like some coffee with my Splenda. Yep, three or four per cup please.
    4. I always chew TWO pieces of Extra Peppermint gum when I am chewing.
    5. I have one cross pendant and two pairs of earrings (I alternate) that I wear all the time.
    6. I am a coffee snob. Would rather do without than drink lame coffee.
    7. I was born on my grandfather’s birthday, and my sister was born on my grandmother’s birthday.
    8. Some have called me a white witch because I can be so intuitive.

  3. Lynne from Hasty Brook 21 May, 2007 at 12:09 pm #

    I love these kinds of memes. It’s such a hoot to learn odd things about people.

    Five feet four, dressed in pink, wavey hair with a spider bitten knee- I’d know you anywhere!!!

  4. Pam 21 May, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    It’s nice to know more about you Lizalee, and you too, Jayne! These memes are fun!

  5. Miz S 21 May, 2007 at 4:11 pm #

    #7 is me, baby. I get up INSANELY early to preserve that morning time.

  6. Mary 21 May, 2007 at 5:17 pm #

    You and I are alike – I love pink and #7 is very important to me, too – unreasonably important!

  7. susangetsnative 21 May, 2007 at 7:55 pm #

    Thanks for this idea, Liza. It’s nice to have something blog about when there’s nothing to blog about.

    I think having a third child just to even out your curls is an excellent reason. I will have to use some of my own weird post-pregnancy changes when I do this meme.

Leave a Reply

