I found a little time in my garden today . . .

25 May

My Garden May 25, 2007

Enjoy your Memorial Day Weekend. And please take a moment or ten on Monday to remember our military men and women who are fighting and dying for our country and who have fought and died for our country.

My town of Boulder Creek has its own way to celebrate Memorial Day weekend. I’m sure I’ll have pictures to share.

My pictures above were all taken in my yard (front and back). The first is of a katydid. Then several pictures of my many lavender plants. Deer don’t like lavender or rosemary so I have lots of both in my yard. The deer will come right up on my front porch to eat tasty plants so I put out plants I love that are not tasty! It works. There is a California Towhee. Someday I’ll capture the sound of this backyard bird of mine. They are funny. Then some new growth on a redwood tree — the baby green color is so pretty. Another katydid (nymph) on an overblown Peace Rose. A cricket on my green shed. My birthday geraniums. And, oddly, some bamboo someone planted.

7 Responses to “I found a little time in my garden today . . .”

  1. jayne 26 May, 2007 at 4:37 am #

    Beautiful Liza. Hope you all have a safe and happy Memorial day as well.

  2. mon@rch 26 May, 2007 at 5:07 am #

    how wonderful and I sure hope you enjoy the holiday also!

  3. robin andrea 26 May, 2007 at 8:06 am #

    Very lovely there. Enjoy your weekend, and I will join you in taking time to remember our military men and women who are fighting and dying for our country.

  4. Lynne from Hasty Brook 26 May, 2007 at 12:52 pm #

    I’ll remember too.

  5. Mary 26 May, 2007 at 3:38 pm #

    You have a beautiful place, Liza. I’ll also remember. My American Flag is swaying in the breeze.

  6. susangetsnative 26 May, 2007 at 7:54 pm #

    Very nice, Liza.
    I thought that last creepy thing was a spider! Eek!
    Have a great weekend!

  7. vicki 27 May, 2007 at 2:42 pm #

    The moment I saw your pictures I went “ahhh!” remembering the smell of lavender in my old perennial beds. This past week I started a new garden and there’s just one small little plant of lavender at this point- I hope it grows as lush as yours! All you need now is a panda…
    A lovely post for this Memorial Day weekend.

Leave a Reply

