Playing Catch-Up

31 May

Quick posts always seem like cheating but it’s a necessity today.

For Teachers, as the end of the school year approaches, the space/time continuum shrinks in unimaginable ways.  The amount of work expands to fill all voids in your life while the amount of time decreases exponentially in direct reverse proportion to the amount of work — real or perceived.  At the same time, demands on your time increase while the speed at which time travels increases as well in a similarly convoluted expotential reverse proportional relationship.  In other words, teachers are screwed.  And, lets not forget to factor in that all elusive quality — desire for summer break.  The more you desire it, the stronger the previously mentioned effects are.

And, I don’t even have my own classroom this year.  My tasks are managable in comparison to those of a classroom teacher.  But still . . . it’s a crazed time of year.

That said, I got my summer school position lined up.  I’ll be teaching 2nd grade in a predominantly hispanic city about 45 minutes away.   I haven’t taught at this particular school before.   The Head Teacher seems nice though and whatever else, it’s only 5 weeks!  🙂  So, that is good.

I am wrapping up my job for this year.  This week (today, actually) ends MOST of my job.  Next week, I’m just doing my 4th grade math class, writing reports, and packing up.  For many teachers, ending the school year is joyous.  For me, it’s agony.  First of all, I LOVE what I do.  Secondly, I don’t have a job lined up for next year.  My current principal isn’t sure she has a position for me.  Our district is struggling with declining enrollment and she’s on the edge of whether or not she should hire another teacher for next year (me, hopefully).  Even if she does hire another teacher, there is the risk that the numbers wouldn’t hold and I’d be let go before school started. Ouch.  I’d take that risk though.  This school is 3 mi from my house and it’s the one my kids are attending.  It is GOOD for our family and it’s a great school.  But, I’m being careful and job hunting as well.  Hard to be excited about it when I don’t want to leave where I’m at though.  I should know something by the end of next week.  Fingers crossed.

Kid activities are skyrocketing.  Tonight is the Open House at the school.  Next week, we have two evening performances — Ruth is in the 3rd Grade play, Gage is singing and playing the recorder with the 1st graders.  They start soccer on Friday (well, it started last week but somehow didn’t make it onto my calendar so we missed it!)

Along with that, we are getting serious about our backyard.  We are having Robert the Rototiller guy come back today.  So, yesterday, Greg and I were clearing redwood debris (these trees drop a LOT of crap!), watering the yard endlessly, and discussing plans.   This weekend, we are installing drainage pipes to pull water away from the house.  Then we can get serious about landscaping.  Yippee!

But, in all that chaos, we still find time to celebrate the small victories in life.  Ruby’s birthday was yesterday.  She is 1 year old now.  Happy Birthday, Ruby!  We gave her gifts — a soft, fuzzy bed to sleep in, a flying squirrel toy, a squeaky chipmunk toy, and some delicious chicken treats that she goes insane for.  She also had her very own bbq’d hamburger last night for dinner!

Go out and enjoy the Blue Moon tonight.  I play to and hopefully I’ll even remember to slow down long enough to take a picture of it!

6 Responses to “Playing Catch-Up”

  1. jayne 31 May, 2007 at 6:40 am #

    Busy, busy time Liza! I’ll keep my crossables crossed that you get the teaching job at the kid’s school. :c)

  2. robin andrea 31 May, 2007 at 7:38 am #

    You describe the space-time continuum and work increasing exponentially to fill whatever space time is available, so well! I really do hope you get that job. Best of luck to you.

  3. Neefer 31 May, 2007 at 7:55 am #

    That was a quick post?

    You sound happy.

  4. Mary 31 May, 2007 at 6:37 pm #

    Liza, don’t fret. For many years, I witnessed teacher agony at the end of the school year and soon it will be hehind you. Summmer school is lined up and I pray that you will be hired for the beginning of the school year. Good teachers are in demand!

    Happy Birthday, Ruby! Gosh – a sweetie.

    We are all wild this time of year (at schools) and rarely have time to take a breath. Soon, we will be in the lull of summer. Enjoy your activities with the kids as much as possible because one day, they will be fond memories. I used to fuss about it, too. But those were the days full of love, friends, and life. Take a breath and don’t worry so much.

    I don’t mean to preach, I just know where you are :o)

  5. Miz S 1 June, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    One more teacher chiming in to say, yes, your opening paragraph describes the June Time Crunch perfectly.

    I hope your job stuff gets firmed up for next year. Dag, our school district is constantly short of teachers all the way up until August. Our enrollment continues to grow.

    Have a great weekend!

  6. lizalee 2 June, 2007 at 7:10 am #

    Thanks for all the support, friends! My school is a wonderful one. Great test scores, California Distinguished School for 2006, amazing staff, caring and kind administrator, pretty good community support, etc. And, despite all that, we suffer from declining enrollment. And, that is why I am continually on the edge job-wise. My husband’s frustration over this is extreme. Mine, too. Yesterday was tough. All the regular teachers got their assignments for next year. They are excited and happy and I’m smiling and acting happy for them. I had to come home and cry for a little bit . . . I just want to know what I’ll be doing next year. Sigh. At least I know what I’ll be doing this summer. That’s a step.

Leave a Reply

