Saturday Report

2 Jun

Oh.  My.  Goodness.

Yesterday was a hellacious day at school.  The end of the year festivities are starting. Yesterday I was a 4th grade teacher all day.  The day involved fun, games, volleyball, reading funny fairy tales, tie-dying, bbq, and then all the 4th graders tearing around in the sprinklers like maniacs.  Totally fun.   Totally exhausting.  So much so that I left my camera in another teacher’s classroom and I am feeling utterly lost.

Today, we got up bright and early.  Greg had arranged to have an enterprising young immigrant named Carlos come do some yardwork for us.  You’ll be glad to know that we pay our enterprising temporary workers a living wage here at our house.  He earned his keep and then some.  We are working on our backyard landscape.  We needed drainage trenches dug.  We found out that renting a trencher would cost us about $240 for 4 hours — and we live more than a half-hour from the rental place.  We’d have had a hard time getting it all done in that amount of time so it would have been more . . . I don’t think so.  But, Greg and I are in our {gack!} mid-40s and digging trenches is just not on our agenda anymore.  So, Carlos to the rescue.  He worked hard — amazingly hard.  We plied him with ice water, sandwiches, sodas, and offered a beer at the end of the day.  All the trenches were dug.  Greg and I did the drainage pipes and backfilled the trenches behind him.  We also laid out the entire landscape design. Greg is an architect and did a fabulous job on the design.  I liked it on paper but seeing the paint marks on the dirt and watching the shapes come together . . . wow!  It’s a design with lots of circles.  It will be a few years until it’s all done but we made a HUGE step forward today!  Hurrah!

At the end of the day, we were exhausted!  And, then my nose started running . . . again.  Allergies have been awful this year but I’d already had 3 Claritin-D in 36 hours so I was feeling like I ought to try to tough it out.  After I was still drippy after the 4th Claritin-D in 48 hours, I realized that maybe it wasn’t allergies . . . doi!  I think I’m getting a cold.

Total bummer.  We’re supposed to go see my inlaws tomorrow, work on the pool, and eat dinner my mother-in-law cooked for me.  I don’t think I’ll be going.  He’s immuno-suppressed and just does NOT need to get a drippy, runny cold on top of everything else.  Hopefully Greg and the kids can still go.  And, I must say a few quiet hours alone doesn’t sound so bad!

I wrapped it up by checking the teacher job site for California.  I applied for six jobs tonight.  All the teachers ate work got their grade assignments for next year.  I felt awful.  The only saving grace is that I know the principal is still trying to make it work.  I am grateful for that but I know the numbers and I can do math — heck, it’s my job.  I think it’s unlikely she’ll be able to make it happen.  So, I’m applying for jobs and keeping my fingers crossed that this all works out for the best.

I’m finishing a hot toddy so I can sleep more easily.  You’d think with the amount of decongestent I’ve got in my system, I wouldn’t still be drippy but I am.  Drat!  And, I am feeling feverish, too.  Not good.  To bed.

7 Responses to “Saturday Report”

  1. jayne 3 June, 2007 at 3:04 am #

    Poor Liza… not a good time to get a cold (sending virtual chicken soup your way), but they do seem to always be going around. My mom and dad have not been able to taste anything for weeks.

    I do hope the teaching job pans out for you dear heart.

  2. Pam 3 June, 2007 at 3:05 am #

    I hope you wake up this morning feeling much better Lizalee.
    I understand about trying to find a job in your field. It. Is. Not. Easy. I hope one comes your way soon.
    Can’t wait to see photos of your landscape in progress!!

  3. Miz S 3 June, 2007 at 5:05 am #

    Ugh. You just reminded me that I have field day tomorrow at work.

    Feel better, Lizalee.

  4. Mary 3 June, 2007 at 5:31 am #

    I hope you feel better, Liza. It’s a drag to have some much to do with a drippy cold.

    I feel certain you will have a job in the fall. Keep applying to schools of your choice. It seems like to me that the districts here are begging people to apply – there are so many openings! Especially in the special areas.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  5. Lynne from Hasty Brook 3 June, 2007 at 5:39 am #

    Summer colds are the worst. I hope you feel better soon and I’ve got all my fingers and toes crossed for the job!
    (makes it really hard to type!)

  6. lizalee 3 June, 2007 at 6:34 am #

    Thanks for all the support, friends! I didn’t wake up feeling better by any means. Sigh. Worse in fact. So, Dayquil down the hatch, big oversized frumpy sweatshirt on, and fuzzy slippers. Drinking my coffee and planning to spend the day in bed while my family goes and helps my inlaws out. I’ll survive. And, there are worse things than spending a day in bed. 🙂

    I appreciate all the job support, too. I am in a particularly tough spot because there is only 1 school of my choice and everything else is somewhere on the scale of “okay” to “tolerable”. The reason for that is that my working at our local school works for my family so well. Anything else involves a commute and that’s no good for us. We can make it work but but it will be a real lifestyle change and that’s a bummer. Whine. Whine. Whine.

  7. BEG 3 June, 2007 at 8:58 am #

    I’m exhausted reading this too! 😉 Good luck on the job front, I have various appendages crossed hoping for the best!

Leave a Reply

