A Bad Dog and other frustrations!

7 Jun

Ruby has pretty much convinced the squirrels to stay out of the yard.  They still make end runs over the roof to get to the feeder but mostly they are finding other food sources.  She’s too good at her job.  However, my worst fear is becoming reality.  She chased two birds out of my yard today.  Both of them were never before seen in my backyard.  Argh!

After I woke the kids up this morning, I saw a Robin fly into the redwood.  No worries, Robins aren’t super rare or anything even here in the redwoods but I’ve never seen one IN my backyard before.  Just a moment after the Robin landed in the tree, a Black-headed Grosbeak also landed in the tree.  And me without my camera.

The Robin went down on my beautifully roto-tilled backyard (no wondering what drew a Robin to my yard right now, eh?).  Ruby went after like a shot.  Dratted dog!  I told her off.  The Grosbeak was still there watching things carefully.  He (she?) flew in to the feeder and Ruby shot up and barked at it.  Gone.

Bad dog.  I can see that a summer project is going to be working with Ruby on distinguishing between squirrels and varmints and birds.  So frustrating.

Particularly since my camera was NOT in my hand at the time.  Of course it wasn’t!

The source of my grumpiness isn’t really Ruby or missed photographs or my kids or my husband (although he’s got my cold now and . . . ).  It’s not my daughter’s teacher who is making nuts with stuff he ISN’T doing.  No, my grumpiness has one and only one source right now.  The Unknown.  My job situation for next year is still up in the air and it’s making me crazed.  Facing the end of the school year is really tough.  I adore my job.  I adore the kids I work with.  I love the life that we are creating here.  There is an opportunity for a job for next year but it depends on a decision that someone else has to make about her own future and that is a TOUGH place to be.  I wish her all the best but I am also wishing she’d decide already so I can get past this hopeful stage.  Yesterday was the Staff Appreciation luncheon.  Very nice and the teachers who are not coming back next year were given gifts thanking us for our service.  Only, I want to come back next year so it’s tough.  Meanwhile, job hunting . . . never a fun occupation under the best of circumstances but particularly difficult when I don’t really want to find a job for next year — I want to stay where I am.  Oh what fun.  And, do I need to tell you that I’m very emotional and teary right now?  And sick?  And hormonal?  Oh, life is GOOD at my house right now.

Welp, gotta go get dressed!

6 Responses to “A Bad Dog and other frustrations!”

  1. mon@rch 7 June, 2007 at 10:58 am #

    Ruby!! Good with the squirrels though! BTW: I would love to see a black-headed grosbeak! Great post!

  2. Pam 7 June, 2007 at 12:18 pm #

    Oh, too bad you didn’t have your camera for the black-headed grosbeak! I’m sure you’ll get Ruby trained.
    I soooo understand about job searching and how much it stinks. It is very hard to relax, isn’t it? Something good will come your way though!

  3. jayne 7 June, 2007 at 12:57 pm #

    ((((((Liza)))))) Wishing you a nice warm Calgon bath at the end of the day and a job offer where you want to be next year. Will keep all my crossables crossed!

  4. Mary 7 June, 2007 at 6:02 pm #

    Dear Liza,

    Lixa, Liza, Liza. All of life’s frustrations are magnified now.

    Can I say something?

    1. Ruby is a hunter. She’s young and will go for anything that moves. My Chloe once caught a bird “in flight”. I feel your pain, but Ruby will eventually relax and lose her energy. When I want peace for photography in my yard, I leave my dogs inside. But I still leave the camera behind too many times!

    2. There is nothing worse than fearing the unknown. Since 2002 I moved out-of-state twice. Both times, I was unemployed for a few months. The job searching became a “full-time job”. You work and work and work at getting those resumes out and there are no replies. I hated it. I felt like I was sitting on the edge of my seat, like a soldier waiting to be called to duty. Am I describing your feelings? If you do not get the job you want, there are other jobs out there that will probably prove to be your path – right on target! You might look back on your situation and say, why did I worry so much?

    It’s late and I need to get to bed soon. I hope my message is clear. This font is so small that I’m crossing my fingers that I made sense without too many typos! LOL!

    Keep the faith. Everything happens for a reason.

  5. Laura 7 June, 2007 at 8:02 pm #

    Ditto what Mary said. That’s the thing with teacing in those special programs that live or die on funding. I hope you get to stay where you are.

  6. Miz S 10 June, 2007 at 10:00 am #

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.

    As for Ruby, well, she’s being a dog. I bet she can be trained out of the bird chasing, with a lot of time and patience.

Leave a Reply

