Good Times, Bad Times . . . you know I’ve had my share

8 Jun

Yesterday was an interesting day. Started out with that vent I posted this morning. And, I hope you know that’s what it was . . . a venting of frustration and emotion. I am not really angry with Ruby — she’s a 1 year old puppy and she’ll learn. Heck, I saw improvements by this evening with just reminders of what I really expect from her.

Ruthie wrote a really fun “Fortunately, Unfortunately” story in school this year. My day could go the same way . . .

Fortunately, I’m feeling better today. Unfortunately, I’m not well.

Fortunately, Greg is feeling better today. Unfortunately, he’s not well.

Fortunately, I saw new birds in my yard today. Unfortunately, Ruby chased them off.

Fortunately, I saw a mass butterfly migration today. Unfortunately, many of them were killed on the roads.
(I think they were either Painted Ladies or Red Admirals — it was very cool!)

Fortunately, I saw a female Purple Finch on my feeders today. Unfortunately, I was standing next to them and I scared her.

Fortunately, she came back quickly. Unfortunately, when I got the picture developed, I saw she had conjunctivitis.
(I think that’s what it is — evidently, it’s way less common on the West coast than on the east. Avian Pox is another possibility although that’s hardly good news either.)

Both eyes are affected

Fortunately, the Black-headed Grosbeak came back several times. Unfortunately, the only time I had my camera at hand was at dusk and I couldn’t get to a decent window or the open back door to take a shot that would do him justice. Isn’t he handsome though?

Black-headed Grosbeak at my feeder

So, I guess I’ll be bleaching my feeders tomorrow. Didn’t see the finch again. She was flying funny which makes sense if she couldn’t see well. Poor thing. Thankfully, she was eating at the platform feeder which has the least risk of infecting others, I’d think.

Now, dropping all attempts at humor. We got a report about my father-in-law last night. The news was not good. His cancer is not only not responding to the chemo; it’s getting worse. It has metastasized to many parts of his body including his bones. Much of the weakness he’s feeling isn’t due to the chemo but to the bone cancer. So, they are changing the chemo and treating him for 1 month to see if there is any signs of improvement. So, we are still hopeful but it’s a very different kind of hope now. All prayers and good wishes, white light, positive energy, whatever you believe in are more than welcome.

Kind of puts the whole job thing in perspective, doesn’t it?

12 Responses to “Good Times, Bad Times . . . you know I’ve had my share”

  1. robin andrea 8 June, 2007 at 6:39 am #

    I am so sorry to read the news about your father-in-law. I’m sending all the best wishes and healthful thoughts I have his way. Please keep us posted.

    I love seeing black-headed grosbeaks. We have them here just a few short months every year. The female is quite beautiful too. Once they find your feeder, they’re pretty good at coming back.

    I’ve noticed a house finch with an eye problem too, just the other day. Our new feeders have been up a week, so I think it’s time for a good washing.

    Hope the job issue resolves soon. The way you write about your work, it’s so obvious how much you love it. They would be crazy not to find a permanent position for you. I’ve got my fingers crossed.

  2. Mary Carlson 8 June, 2007 at 7:29 am #

    Liza – I’m sending prayers your way for you and your father-in-law. I get many finches (both lesser and house) at my feeders, but I haven’t seen any sickies yet this year. I did see just one last year, and I had to make sure I thoroughly cleaned each of the feeders. Like you, I only saw the bird once. I hope your weekend will be good! 🙂

  3. Mary Carlson 8 June, 2007 at 7:30 am #

    BTW, I love your banner with the picture of an egret. Great job!

  4. Neefer 8 June, 2007 at 8:15 am #

    Sending a hug and +ve vibes. I’m so sorry about FIL.

  5. jayne 8 June, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    Unfortunately, your FIL has a difficult disease, but fortunately he has a family and a very special DIL who will support him and love him through it, no matter how it ends up. Regardless, know that my prayers of love and light are going up to surround you and your family Liza.

  6. KGMom 8 June, 2007 at 12:43 pm #

    Good times, bad times–all in a life.
    I notice you have changed your blog look again–not that you need my approval, but I like it. In fact, it is easier for me to read than the previous one with black background & white text.
    Here’s hoping the best for your FIL.

  7. Pam 8 June, 2007 at 2:54 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your FIL – he is in my prayers for sure. Yes, these things do put everything into perspective.
    And yes, the black-headed grosbeak is very handsome, and I don’t say that about just anyone or anything!

  8. mon@rch 8 June, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your father in law!! Keep us posted! Do keep your feeders clean and do watch those birds with bird pox! They can get better on their own!

  9. Susan Gets Native 8 June, 2007 at 6:59 pm #

    Man, that’s scary. Hoping the best for him, and for you.
    On another note, it would be good to report the conjunctivitis to Cornell’s study, if you haven’t already.
    House Finch Eye Disease Survey

  10. Mary 9 June, 2007 at 3:25 am #

    I’m watching the numerous house finches I have and so far, they are OK.

    I’m so sorry about your FIL. That’s a tough disease. Keep your chin up.

  11. Laura 9 June, 2007 at 7:10 pm #

    I’ll send good vibes his way.

  12. Miz S 10 June, 2007 at 10:02 am #

    Sorry, honey. That’s rough news about your father-in-law.

    Damn, you know a lot about birds.

Leave a Reply

