A Two Green Heron Day

27 Jun

There is so much I want to blog about today. However, it’s 11:48pm. My alarm goes off at 5:35 am (those 5 minutes make all the difference!) and I just don’t have time. Go see my Flickr pics {click!} for more details.

Basically Gage’s group was nearly two hours late from a trip to the water slides. I wasn’t worried (well, anymore than I always am when one of the kids is driving with someone else) and took advantage of the time to grocery shop and, of course, bird watch. His camp is at my old high school which has improved rather dramatically since I went there (back in the olden days!). In exploring, I found an Aquaculture area with ponds, salmon tanks, and a Green Heron that flew in while I was watching. Amazing! I also found a Green Heron roosting site while I was grocery shopping seriously — I parked under it. Bizarre. These secretive skittish birds chose a busy shopping center to roost in. Amazing!


Young Green Heron in roosting tree

10 Responses to “A Two Green Heron Day”

  1. jayne 28 June, 2007 at 2:49 am #

    Never have seen a green heron….cool! Heck, if I am up past 10PM I am doing good. Our alarm goes off at 5:20…ugh. Hugs ya!

  2. Miz S 28 June, 2007 at 4:41 am #

    5.5 hours of sleep is not enough. (I know, because I am guilty of the same behavior during the school year.) Go to bed earlier, woman!

    I had a gorgeous Great Blue Heron at my backyard pond this week but he took off as soon as I grabbed my camera, damn it. And a Pileated Woodpecker yesterday, but again with the flying away. Stupid birds.

  3. mon@rch 28 June, 2007 at 6:11 am #

    Green Herons nest in pines! I wonder if it had a nest near by? I just “LOVE” that second photo! Heading over to flickr to fave!

  4. Lynne at Hasty Brook 28 June, 2007 at 7:18 am #

    I’ve never seen a green heron either and that second photo NEEDS to be framed! Excellent!!

  5. robin andrea 28 June, 2007 at 7:47 am #

    I love Green Herons! I’ve never seen one, and your pics make me feel as though I have. Excellent.

  6. Pam 28 June, 2007 at 2:16 pm #

    Cool Green Herons Lizalee!

  7. booklogged 28 June, 2007 at 8:42 pm #

    Awesome pictures from your lucky day. I would love to see a green heron.

  8. Mary 29 June, 2007 at 9:00 am #

    It’s a new bird for me, too! My alarm sounds at 5:20 a.m. I just can NOT be awake past 10:30 p.m. or I’ll get cranky the next day.

  9. The Ridger 12 July, 2007 at 10:21 am #

    I saw my first green heron just last month! In the pond in the park by the Metro station, of all places.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I and the Bird #53 - Happy 2nd Anniversary! - 12 July, 2007

    […] Don’t forget the chocolate.” How can you not love that? And how can you not love A Two Green Heron Day? Remember Liza Lee’s name, because it will come up again […]

Leave a Reply

