The Birds and I

30 Jun



Black Phoebe in flight

Originally uploaded by egret’s nest

A couple of businessy things first . . .

If you haven’t yet read this month’s I and the Bird . . . go forth and do so. I didn’t manage to make a contribution this time around but it’s is a wonderful, quirky, funny carnival! {click!}

Secondly, guess who one IATB51’s contest? Can you guess? Can you? Yup. It was ME! I won! I won! I won! I’m getting an autographed copy of a really cool book — yippee-skippee!

So, with all that out of the way, have I mentioned lately how much I love my camera? My poor much abused much neglected camera? I love it. I was snapping shots of a Black Phoebe sitting on a reed through a chainlink fence way too far away on full zoom in burst mode. And, I caught this shot. Isn’t it cool? I love my camera.

The squirrels have been decimating my feeders lately. We are under seige from juvenile delinquent squirrels. They don’t just come and steel seed and bird food, they knock down the feeders, break them up, and I think I caught one about to spray paint the side of the house with his little gang tags. Rotten little JDs. Thankfully, Sheriff Ruby is on the job! She keeps them away for the most part but it’s not easy! They are persistent and destructive. Occasionally, Sheriff Ruby takes her frustration out on other backyard wildlife. I found another dead mole in the backyard. We are so grateful that our yard is safe from the Vicious MolePeople. I can’t tell you what a blessing that is.

Life continues. I had another job interview and am actually expecting an offer of a job on Monday so that’s good. I’m trying to be excited about it but it’s not, of course, where I want to work. It will be a long, hard year for us if I get it but that’s part of paying one’s dues, right? Right.

7 Responses to “The Birds and I”

  1. BEG 30 June, 2007 at 10:16 am #

    Saw this earlier today, thought of you, then read this entry 😉
    Roller Feeder
    It certainly looks like it could be entertaining…

  2. robin andrea 30 June, 2007 at 12:03 pm #

    We put up a baffle on the post that our bird feeder hangs from, and the squirrels can’t get past it to get to the food. Plenty of food falls to the ground for it to eat. I rake the ground every morning and discard the seeds so that the birds won’t make each other sick, but whatever falls to the ground during the day the squirrel gets to eat.

    Good luck on the job front, and congrats on winning the I and the Bird contest.

  3. Laura 30 June, 2007 at 6:39 pm #

    So what cool book did you win? Congrats anyway!

    I don’t know if I should wish you good luck on the job or not – how about – I hope whatever is best is what happens!

  4. Mary 30 June, 2007 at 7:58 pm #

    Congratulations, Liza!!!! That’s so cool.

    Good luck on that job offer. You will make the best of it and life will adjust accordingly. Smile!

  5. jayne 1 July, 2007 at 3:54 am #

    Cool in-flight phoebe! Hooray for Liza winning!!!
    I will keep hoping that you get a phone call out of the blue offering you a job where you want to be. Hugs ya!!

  6. mon@rch 1 July, 2007 at 4:01 pm #

    Congrats for winning and I two have been neglecting my camera recently! Well, my DSLR camera! Why does everything seem to happen at the same time! Keep up the great news!

  7. Sarala 1 July, 2007 at 4:33 pm #

    Glad you won. I love my camera too and feel guilty that it isn’t as clean as it should be but I don’t know how to maintain it.
    I hope you don’t mind but I’m going to tag you for a meme. If you do mind, just ignore it. This is the Eight Things meme.
    Here are the rules:

    * Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
    * People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
    * At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
    * Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.
    Happy blogging.

Leave a Reply

