Ruby Tuesday

3 Jul

I am determined not to let another Ruby Tuesday go by unnoticed. However, it is difficult. I basically took to my bed in a full-blown Victorian decline last night — probably something I ate which is always a lovely thought.

Anyway, I caught Ruby on the hunt the other day. She saw a foolish squirrel coming down the redwood tree nearest our house. She waited without moving for it to descend. Finally, she slowly and stealthily moved under the trampoline for cover. At this point, some squirrely instinct kicked in and the thing went back up the tree. She was so disappointed. When I came outside, she ran from tree to tree all over the yard barking up the tree at the now-long-gone squirrel. It was very interesting. She was utterly silent and still (except for trembling with excitement) while hunting it but afterwards had to burn that energy off.

The squirrels have been truly horrible lately. It’s the teenagers set loose by Mom and Dad and they are so destructive. Knocking down my feeders, breaking the place up, throwing loud parties late at night, driving their cars too fast up the road. Horrible little delinquents! 🙂

foolish prey

Treeing the squirrel

(the other photos are at Flickr — I’m late for work! bye!)

7 Responses to “Ruby Tuesday”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook 3 July, 2007 at 9:07 am #

    Good girl Ruby! Go get ’em!
    I am always stunned when a Redwood shows up in your yard. Really- my jaw drops!
    How’s the count down to the end of summer schhol?

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook 3 July, 2007 at 9:08 am #

    Ooops! Make that summer SCHOOL!

    (maybe I need a refresher…)

    😉

  3. robin andrea 3 July, 2007 at 10:14 am #

    Love seeing that redwood. Ruby looks so cute and small next to it.

  4. Sandy 3 July, 2007 at 1:27 pm #

    The squirrels used to torment my inlaw’s old dog. She couldn’t see well, but still knew they were there.

    That tree is beautiful!!

  5. KGMom 3 July, 2007 at 6:40 pm #

    Poor frustrated Ruby. Those darn squirrels.

  6. jayne 4 July, 2007 at 4:03 am #

    Wow, what a TREE! The squirrels have been less active here recently… must be the heat.

  7. mary 4 July, 2007 at 12:39 pm #

    Liza, the way your describe your Ruby is how I described Chloe in her younger days. I know what you are talking about. They are the best stalkers…silent and potentially deadly! Chloe NEVER caught a squirrel, after hours of diligent stalking. I kind of miss watching her do that…she doesn’t see well enough anymore.

    I’d like to see Ruby in action :o)

    And, that redwood is incredible. What a great place you have!

    Hope you are feelin better and enjoying the 4th!

Leave a Reply

