Happy Birthday, Daughter O’Mine

12 Jul

 

P1090506.JPG

My daughter is 9 today.  She was born at 12:35am on July 12,1998.  Yesterday, she set her alarm for 12:35am so she could be awake when she turned 9.  “Who wouldn’t want to be awake when they turn 9?” She knows that 9 is important because it’s her last single digit year.

Today is huge for her in many, many ways.  Tonight, she opens in Beauty and the Beast.  She has been going to theatre camp.  They are learning to act, sing, and dance.  So, we’ll have an early dinner and take her over to the theatre for her call time.  Then I’ll run out and get some flowers and we’ll go see our daughter debut.  What a day.

For her birthday this year, we got her a new (old) bike.  It has hand brakes and 6 gears.  She’s thrilled.  We also got her a couple of books.

As for me, her loving mother, I have the awareness that that little bundle of joy I held in my arms so long ago is becoming a wild, wonderful, funny, thoughtful, aggravating, loving, smart person.  So, for me, this day is sweet. Happy birthday, Sweet Girl.

 

10 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Daughter O’Mine”

  1. Veery 12 July, 2007 at 6:32 am #

    What a sweet post! My son will reach the big 10 this August, where does the time go? What a great month to have a birthday, right in the middle of summer. Cute picture!

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook 12 July, 2007 at 10:25 am #

    Happy Birthday Miss Ruthie!! Good luck in the play. I wish I could be there to watch you! Ask your Mom to share pictures.

  3. BEG 12 July, 2007 at 2:12 pm #

    Ooh, happy birthday to ruthie! Wow, can’t believe she’s nine already o.O Makes me feel old 🙂

  4. Ruth 12 July, 2007 at 2:29 pm #

    Happy birthday Ruth! I loved being 9 and I love 9 year olds.
    from a much older Ruth…

  5. robin andrea 12 July, 2007 at 4:08 pm #

    What a sweet face on that child. You heart must swell when you see her, especially today when she turned nine. Hope her opening night was fantastic! What a great way to spend her birthday!

  6. NatureWoman 12 July, 2007 at 4:10 pm #

    Happy Birthday Ruth! Wow, congratulations on being in the play – can’t wait to hear about it!

  7. mary 12 July, 2007 at 5:35 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Rutie! When my daughter was 9 , she was in theatre, too. It’s a way cool experience! Enjoy it and your summer, too, with you wonderful family.

    Liza, you are a wonderful Mother. During the hectic days, treasure them.

  8. mary 12 July, 2007 at 5:37 pm #

    My typos are terrible! Happy Birthday, RUTHIE!

  9. KGMom 12 July, 2007 at 5:56 pm #

    Happy birthday to Ruthie. This must be birthday week (with Julie Z’s Phoebe turning 11).
    9 is a great age. And–Mom–the next 9 years go by just as fast as the first 9. Enjoy them all.

  10. mon@rch 12 July, 2007 at 6:32 pm #

    Well Happy Birthday to her for sure! To only be 9 again! These will be the best days of your life for sure!! Enjoy them!

Leave a comment