One little, two little, three little hawkies . . . and a White-tailed Kite

15 Jul

Three little Red-Shouldered Hawks

On my way to work on Friday, I saw the Red-shouldered Hawk again. He was on a hay bale behind a chain link fence — at the airport. Risking looking like a terrorist scoping out a attack at Watsonville Airport, I pulled over and hopped out of my car to get a shot. I got this one by sticking my camera lens through the chainlink. Pretty cool, huh? As I walked back to my car, across the street and in someone’s yard, I saw

Two little Red-Shouldered Hawks

I love that he’s just sitting on their pop-out as if it’s a perfectly natural place for hawks to hang out. Then, as I got in my car, I looked up and saw . . .

One little Red-Shouldered Hawk

A third Red-shouldered Hawk sitting on the lines above my head. Amazing, huh? I’m guessing a mama and two recently fledged youngsters. Pretty gorgeous birds.

In other news, I’ve seen a White-tailed Kite on my commute as well. I’ve seen them before at Elkhorn Slough. They are gorgeous birds and they love to hover — kite-like. I had read on the local mailing list that there was one spotted in Felton and I was lucky enough to see it. As I drove by at 45 mph, it was hovering over a tree and then landed in the treetop. I saw it at about 6:50am. The next day, I saw it in the same tree at around 8:40pm. Guess it likes that tree. And a big white bird at the top of a tree is certainly easy to spot when doing 45 mph birding.

White-tailed Kite
This is a shot I took at Elkhorn Slough — not the WTKI in Felton

9 Responses to “One little, two little, three little hawkies . . . and a White-tailed Kite”

  1. robin andrea 15 July, 2007 at 7:00 am #

    Great photographs, Liza. The one taken through the chain-link fence is really grand, and I especially like the White-Tailed Kite.

  2. jayne 15 July, 2007 at 8:27 am #

    Lucky you! Cool, cool, cool!!!

  3. mary 15 July, 2007 at 11:31 am #

    Those red-shouldered hawks are gorgeous and I shudder when I hear them yell. Great photos, Liza. I’m glad you pulled over. I would have…

  4. mon@rch 15 July, 2007 at 6:00 pm #

    O my goodness, looks like such a wonderful day for sure! I did get a Red-shouldered Hawk today but nothing like what you saw! The Kite would really have made me happy!

  5. Susan Gets Native 15 July, 2007 at 7:37 pm #

    Glad you didn’t get picked up for being a terrorist.
    Hawk pictures are worth it!

  6. Mary Carlson 15 July, 2007 at 8:36 pm #

    Great shots, Liza. That sure is impressive to see that many hawks in the same area – I agree that it would be a mama with a couple of fledglings. I sure didn’t realize we have kites around here. Sounds like I need to make a trip “over the hill” to see some spectacular birds.

  7. lizalee 16 July, 2007 at 4:49 am #

    Mary Carlson, you can be sure of seeing them at Elkhorn Slough — which is well worth a visit anyway! The one in Felton that I’ve been seeing has only been observed for a couple of weeks. Maybe settling in for the long haul, may be just passing through. I’ve seen two pairs at Elkhorn Slough just off the main trail down to the barn. I watched them harassing a gorgeous Harrier one day who was getting to close to their nesting area. Very cool birds!

  8. Lynne at Hasty Brook 16 July, 2007 at 6:20 pm #

    Wow Liza- amazing pictures! The kite would be a life bird for me.

  9. Larry 17 July, 2007 at 1:55 pm #

    I don’t often get to see Red-shouldered Hawks around here-Only occasionally in the winter.-Nice job!-Kite would be a lifer for me too>-I did see a Swallow-tailed Kite once.

Leave a Reply

