When good things happen to good people . . .

9 Aug

What a day! What a crazy wonderful day!

Hand gripped firmly on the wheel

Greg and I picked up my car today. Oh, sure, it’s OUR car but it’s really MY car! 🙂 To get it to happen today, involved 4 phone calls to the bank, the exceptional help of a bank manager named Lynn at a WAMU branch other than our own, and repeated stops at bank branches to get all the money in cash (that’s how the seller wanted it). It was pretty funny but everyone was really nice at the bank so phew! And, the car is ours! So wonderful!

60 mile per hour vista

The drive home was wonderful. A beautiful drive on Highway 1 between Half Moon Bay and Santa Cruz. We took Jerryne — my mother-in-law – out to dinner to celebrate. When we got home tonight, we sat in the car and read the owner’s manual and found all the cool things and pushed all the buttons and thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s going to be a great car for us.

Pigeon Point Lighthouse

And, as if that weren’t enough, I got a phone call with some fantastic news about my job. I can’t give any details yet but let’s just say that I screamed with excitement . . . three times! Details will be forthcoming!

Sun coming through the fog

So, I’m gleeful tonight. Almost too gleeful if that is possible. The ONLY bad thing today is that my back is peeling from camping sunburn! I can live with that! 🙂

Driving the new car home

Good grief if Thursday was that good, what will Friday bring???

newcar.jpegliza.jpeg

9 Responses to “When good things happen to good people . . .”

  1. Miz S 9 August, 2007 at 9:29 pm #

    Very exciting! I’m looking forward to hearing the job news, especially.

  2. jayne 10 August, 2007 at 2:39 am #

    Congrats on the new car! You look mahhhvalous dahling! Hope the news on the job is what you were hoping it would be. Waiting with bated breath!!! Have a great weekend Liza!

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook. 10 August, 2007 at 5:36 am #

    Oh Liza, I hope you news is what I think it is! Congrats on the new car. I LOVE that picture- you look happy enough to POP!

  4. amarkonmywall 10 August, 2007 at 5:46 am #

    New (even slightly used) cars are a thing of joy. You really will like this car- and you look so happy driving along the coast highway! Okay- so what’s the scoop on the job? Tell,tell,tell- as soon as you can.

    I’m laughing because when I first flicked onto your page I thought the title of the post was “When Good Things Happen To Crazy People” (picked up the crazy from the next line) and I thought that was funny. You, good person, deserve all good things. Hope today (Friday) is better still- for me, it brings Abby back to town! hooray!

  5. lizalee 10 August, 2007 at 8:55 am #

    Good . . . crazy . . . whatever! Friday is bringing me a phone call I don’t want to make but I’m afraid Miss Manners will hunt me down and embarrass me if I go for the chicken-shit email option! Sigh.

    Thanks for all the good wishes. I’ll spill all as soon as I can!

  6. NatureWoman 10 August, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    Yay Lizalee!! Congrats on the vehicle and can’t wait to hear about your job!!

  7. mon@rch 10 August, 2007 at 5:01 pm #

    Awww, soo exciting for you to have soo many great things happening!
    ((((HIGHFIVE))))))

  8. Betsy 10 August, 2007 at 9:09 pm #

    Go go go go go!

    You’re bubbling over, and that’s so great to see.

  9. mary 12 August, 2007 at 10:10 am #

    I’m grinning from ear to ear. My fingers are crossed for the best news!

    Love the coastal drive. Like heaven!

Leave a Reply

