It’s Official Now, Baby!

22 Aug

Okay . . . it’s official. I had the interview. I got the phone call. It’s officially official. I can talk about it — I can trust it — I can do my happy “IT’S OFFICIAL” dance! I can stop worrying that I’ll say the wrong thing to the wrong person at the wrong time.

So, the big news is that I am now a 5th grade teacher at the elementary school in my town. The one that I have worked at for the last two years in temporary, part-time, while-I-am-still-a-student kind of way. The one where my kids go to school. The one where I love the staff and the atmosphere we’ve created there. The one that is the right choice for me.

YA-FREAKIN’-HOOO!

The good news is that while this announcement remained UNofficial, I was kind-hearted enough to volunteer to set up a classroom and help out the school to prepare for the new 5th grade teacher. Wasn’t that thoughtful and altruistic of me? (Sheesh! Talk about your basic selfish gene! 🙂 )

So, tomorrow starts meetings for 2 days. However, I also have my father’s memorial service on Friday. Then I’ll spend most of the weekend getting ready and then school starts bright and early Monday morning!

Don’t feel bad for me. They also had to hire a kindergarten teacher who also starts Monday and she didn’t have a kind “volunteer” setting up her room for her. Although, I think all the other kindergarten teachers chipped in all afternoon and worked on her room. But, that’s the kind of thing we expect around here — we help each other out! It’s part of the reason for the happy dance!

14 Responses to “It’s Official Now, Baby!”

  1. jayne 23 August, 2007 at 2:36 am #

    Yippeeee!!! Yahoooo! Kowabunga! So happy for you Liza! I just had a feeling this might all work out for you. So wonderful that you will be close to home, where your kids are, and where your soul and spirit are fed! Congratulations!!!

  2. Miz S 23 August, 2007 at 2:41 am #

    Congratulations! I am very happy for you! I’m looking forward to all the school stories. Will you be posting pictures of your gorgeous new classroom? I probably will do that next week.

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook 23 August, 2007 at 5:11 am #

    Yayyy Liza!!
    I’m so very happy for you! It’s the good news we were all hoping for!

  4. mon@rch 23 August, 2007 at 6:26 am #

    That is amazing! HIGH FIVE, Jumping for Joy, chasing the puppy dog trying to grab its tail happy for you! CONGRATS!

  5. robin andrea 23 August, 2007 at 7:42 am #

    Congratulations! This is truly fantastic news. A shout of “YAY” all the way from the Olympic Peninsula.

  6. Neefer 23 August, 2007 at 8:10 am #

    Excellent news and congrats!

  7. Phyllis 23 August, 2007 at 8:14 am #

    Hooray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The kids’ school was still hiring people 2 days before classes started – and a couple more during the first week. One of whom had no Montessori experience and it’s a Montessori charter school…

    You are way ahead of the game and ready and raring to go 🙂

    Congratulations 🙂

  8. Mary 23 August, 2007 at 8:31 am #

    Wahooo! That’s what I was hoping to hear!

    You will love being in the school where your children attend. I worked in the high school my daughter attending. It was a wonderful 4 years!

    I’m so happy for you, Liza Lee!

  9. BEG 23 August, 2007 at 9:28 am #

    WOO HOO!!! \o/

  10. NatureWoman 23 August, 2007 at 12:29 pm #

    Congratulations!!!! YAY!!!! Happy Dancing With You!!!! Woo Hoo!!!! Great for you Liza!
    Your father’s memorial service??

  11. Jody 23 August, 2007 at 12:57 pm #

    I should read your blog first thing in the morning! (Then I wouldn’t have to worry all day like the silly thing that I am.)

    Congratulations, Sis! I am so freaking PROUD of you! Woooooooooot!

  12. Laura 24 August, 2007 at 6:23 pm #

    Ohhh… 5th grade – congrats! I’m so happy you got the job you wanted!

  13. Betsy 25 August, 2007 at 6:20 pm #

    Excellent news! Congrats to you…

  14. Jane 31 August, 2007 at 7:20 am #

    Congratulations!! How exciting for you. Now I can finally relax that I know what “it” is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

