A view of our weekend . . .

5 Sep

yard art

This weekend, Greg had to meet with a client.  We went along so the kids could swim in her pool.  The meeting was supposed to be 15 min — we knew better . . . 2+ hours.  No worries.  I had plenty of time to look at her gorgeous gardens through my camera.  Wow.  And, the shots that I saw when my camera was still in the car.  Sigh.

japanese maple

Sad to see this japanese maple feeling parched but that’s what kind of summer we are having.  Everything is dry, dry, dry.  Still, it’s is delicate and beautiful.

Goldfinch having a drink!

 Speaking of delicate and beautiful.  This goldfinch came zooming in for a sip.  She was scolding me for being to close and interrupting her drink.  Still, she did pose for me — vain thing.

Another brazen bird in my yard

 Back at home on Sunday, we did yard work.  This lovely little chickadee was less than 4 feet away from me.  He scolded me too.  Talking the whole time.

Pomegranate tree in the new pot!

 Our pomegranate is finally in the new pot.  Greg’s mom came over and helped me repot it.  Isn’t it lovely?  And, just think when it grows into the pot.  Beautiful!

Progress

What we really worked on though was putting in the edging for our circles.  Doesn’t that look nice?  It will be nicer still when it’s all grown in and looking lush but you can sort of see that there is one circle around the gazebo and then another curve transects with it and veers off to the redwood grove.  We put in a couple of more edgers like that and have at least as many yet to go. But, with our soft rototilled soil, it’s surprisingly easy to work with and was almost (almost!) fun!

We had such a sense of accomplishment.  Next step . . . crushed granite paths.  That will feel good too.  And, bark . . . lots and lots of bark.  Then I can worry about getting some plants in the ground as the rainy season is starting.  That’s the joy of living in a place with mild winters.  I can let mother nature water for me.  Anyway, that’s an update from my yard.

3 Responses to “A view of our weekend . . .”

  1. jayne 6 September, 2007 at 2:48 am #

    It will surely be so very beautiful when it’s all grown up and lush! Can’t wait to see it! Love the chickadee-dee-dee. ;c)

  2. NatureWoman 6 September, 2007 at 12:41 pm #

    Oh, Lizalee, this is all very nice! I’m sure you’ll show us photos when your pomegrante grows up. Can’t wait to see your yard with the plants!

  3. LostRoses 8 September, 2007 at 8:21 pm #

    I love this gazebo! And soft, freshly-tilled soil? Sigh!

Leave a Reply

