Ruby Tuesday

11 Sep

The “Sans Picture” Edition

I don’t know why it’s been so difficult to get a shot of Ruby lately — perhaps not having my camera glued to my hands could explain part of it.  At any rate, I haven’t gotten shots of her lately.  But, she is still adorable and adding to my life in amazing ways.

She has been playing with the local wildlife again . . . with stinky results.  The other night, it was all my fault.  She went nuts at the backdoor.  I checked . . . carefully . . . no skunk.  So, I figured it was a rat and let her out.  She immediately ran under the deck (where I had not checked) and I heard a scuffle (under my feet no less) and . . . she ran out again, rubbing her face in the dirt.  Damn.

And, damned if she didn’t run back under the deck again a moment later.

The stench was awful (it still is!).  So, she had a bath in the sink which she hates but the hydrogen peroxide, baking soda, soap recipe works really well.  And, then we let her run around the house in wild dog mode.

So, now she pretty much can’t go in the backyard after 8:30 pm since the skunks abound in the dark. Stinky things!

*******

Last night, she scared me silly.  I came into my room to get ready for bed.  I reached to turn on my bedside reading light and the bed moved.  You’d think with two prankster kids I’d have been prepared for anything but I knew there were asleep in bed so I totally freaked — gasping and jumping.  Which of course freaked Ruby who was under the covers with her head on my pillow.  She looked up at me all guilty like, “I’m just taking a nap here!”  She’s lucky it was me and not Greg who found her.  Greg doesn’t hold with dogs under the covers, thank you very much.  Ruby thinks that is the perfect place for dogs, however.

4 Responses to “Ruby Tuesday”

  1. robin andrea 11 September, 2007 at 6:51 am #

    The weird thing about skunks is that they stink all the time. When we lived in Santa Cruz, we could smell them when they walked down along the Carbonara Creek behind our house. Is that always true? Do you smell them even when they haven’t sprayed?

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook 11 September, 2007 at 7:43 am #

    What is it with dogs and smelly things? Our dog Gidget will scout out the area looking for THE BEST stink to roll in! Luckily (I guess) the stink washes out with shampoo…

    I need to look back to see if anyone could id your strange flower.

  3. Mary 11 September, 2007 at 8:40 am #

    She’s a handful! No skunks here, thank goodness. They both love to rub in bunny pellets.

    Both of our dogs sleep under the covers next to us… It’s nice to have them on cold nights but there are times when I’d prefer them sleeping on the floor!

  4. jayne 12 September, 2007 at 2:49 am #

    LOL… glad the washing concoction works! PU!

Leave a Reply

