Plant Rescue or “You gotta be cruel to be kind . . . “

24 Sep

Spider Plants

I visited our brand spankin’ new Home Depot on Saturday.   It’s very nice and I saw lots of wonderful things.  I could not resist the nursery though.  I should – we have some wonderful local nurseries that have lots of wonderful plants but something about a Home Depot nursery is compelling to me.  It gets me going.  I didn’t buy too much but I did get a huge spider plant for about $6.00.  Couldn’t resist.  I was going to move the whole thing into the clay pot you see hanging behind the ugly white plastic one that it came in.  But, when I took the poor thing out of the original pot . . . yikes!  It was so horrifically rootbound that there was no way I could just repot it that way.

Instead, I got vicious.  I tore at those poor bound up roots  with my trowel.  And, in the process noticed that it was really three spider plants and not just one.  So, one of them got cut away from its brethren and potted up in the lovely clay pot and the others got put back into the original pot with some new potting mix until I can get 2 more nice hanging baskets.  They all got a nice drink of water and hung up in the cool, damp air.

Being cruel to be kind . . . it feels good to rescue a needy plant and give it a new, happier life.

And, on my way home, I stopped at my local plant sale.  A local husband and wife team who adore plants and have monthly plant sales in their yard.  I got a lovely focal plant for one of my beds in my backyard:  a sweet little Japanese maple with a tagalong violet plant.  You saw it in yesterday’s post.  It’s going to thrive under my redwoods.  Hurrah!

5 Responses to “Plant Rescue or “You gotta be cruel to be kind . . . “”

  1. jayne 24 September, 2007 at 2:38 am #

    Well, and that’s the beauty of finding something this special… you really do feel as if you’ve rescued it and given it new life! Can’t wait to see the full pots of spider plants in a few weeks time.

  2. robin andrea 24 September, 2007 at 7:43 am #

    You inspire me. I have spiderplant that I know is root bound, but I keep putting off taking some action. I think today will be the day.

  3. Phyllis 24 September, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    I thought that when they were rootbound, they spidered more? When they have space, the mama plant grows, but when she runs out of space, she starts shooting out babies all over, looking for new dirt.

  4. lizalee 24 September, 2007 at 5:16 pm #

    This was beyond root bound — there was very little soil in the pot. I’m all for baby spiders and all but I’ve always gotten them to do that in pots that weren’t torturous! 🙂

  5. mon@rch 24 September, 2007 at 6:09 pm #

    poor little thing . . . . no wonder my plants always die! Glad you were able to make this a special deal!

Leave a Reply

