Such is my life

27 Sep

Sometimes you have to laugh.  I spent about 20 valuable minutes this morning crafting a wonderful post for you, my loyal readers.  It was clever, poignant, and had great soul-shaking revelations about the art and nature of being a teacher.  I wish you could read it.  Sadly, I clicked the CLOSE TAB button on my browser instead of the PUBLISH button and that prize-winning piece of writing is gone forever.

To sum it up in a non-brilliant manner,  being a teacher is hard work.  Sometimes you really worry about your students.  And, even then, you can’t really talk about it because that would be unprofessional.  One of my students is causing me great worry and I can’t tell you about it.  Because I’m a teacher.  And, I try really hard to not be unprofessional.

The good news is that next week, we’re going to have a big ol’ pow-wow with all the powers that be and interested parties and try to come up with some solutions for him.  And, hopefully for me, because it ain’t working, folks.

So, now that that is clear as mud and not at all brilliant, I’ll be on my way.  Time to wake up the kids and get this party started!

(Where IS that publish button?)

4 Responses to “Such is my life”

  1. robin andrea 27 September, 2007 at 7:42 am #

    I hate when that happens. I sometimes do that. It happens when I think I’ve written a “brilliant” comment somewhere and review it. I forget that I am in review and haven’t submitted, and I close the comment box.

    I am sorry to hear about that student, but glad that you will be looking for ways to remedy the situation.

  2. NatureWoman 27 September, 2007 at 1:58 pm #

    I sure hope you all can figure out how to help the student so he/she can make progress.

  3. jayne 28 September, 2007 at 2:51 am #

    I feel your pain Liza. Oh, I have done that too and lost entire posts or letters written brilliantly. It’s apparent you are such a dedicated teacher and it’s the hardest job in the world. That kid is so lucky it’s you that will find help for him. Bless you.

  4. mary 29 September, 2007 at 4:31 pm #

    I’ve lost a few great posts, too. I fixed that by typing them into a Word Doc then copying and pasting to the post. You never lose your text that way.

    The good teachers agonize over their students, like you do. I hope he gets what he needs to succeed.

Leave a Reply

