Taking a moment

28 Sep

As you all know, I am way busy. Teaching is one of those jobs that expands to fill every moment you give it. In years past, when I was a student and a teacher, I allowed it to consume my life. This year, I am no longer willing to do that. The idea of balance is important to me this year.

Sunrise?  Sunset?

Last night, in obeyance to the goal of balance, I went to a Santa Cruz Bird Club meeting.  I fed my family, watched a little TV with them, and hopped in my cute little car and drove to Santa Cruz.  On my way, the skies rewarded my effort with a display of faint and lovely pink.  There was just the tiniest bit of cloud cover in the southeast and the sunset found it.

The meeting itself was fascinating.  The speaker was Bruce Elliot — who turned out to be an academic with a long history with birds. He was fascinating.  He distilled his 6 hour talk on Woodpeckers into about an hour and a half.  It was really good and I learned a lot.  The best part was that I felt like I was back in college — learning something very cool.  It was a good feeling to use my brain that way and the best part was . . . no Final!

I came home feeling refreshed and stronger.  It’s been a really long week and I’ve been hampered by a weird little virus (headache, lethargy, stomachache — it caught Ruthie too and Wednesday she came home from school sick).   I made a plan though to do something for me, followed through on that plan, and felt better for it.  Woo-hoo!

9 Responses to “Taking a moment”

  1. jayne 28 September, 2007 at 1:02 pm #

    Good for you girlie!! I need to take a lesson from you. My self care tank is quite empty these days. I’ve been meaning and meaning to go to a local Ornth. Society meeting, but just have not made the promise to myself. I think I shall revisit that idea…

  2. NatureWoman 28 September, 2007 at 1:02 pm #

    Yay Lizalee! I’m glad you went out and heard someone really interesting to recharge yourself! Sounds like a great idea.

  3. amarkonmywall 28 September, 2007 at 4:21 pm #

    okay- you’ve inspired me. I’ve been dragging around doing not a whole lot this week so I needed this post. I miss all the woodpeckers we had in Michigan; once I get to Florida in a month there’s a family of pileated living in the backyard tree. I enjoy them. So what does Bruce have to say about the elusive Ivory billed? 😉

  4. lizalee 28 September, 2007 at 7:57 pm #

    Bruce only mentioned them briefly saying they were most likely extinct. 🙂 We have a lot of pileateds here and I’ve only seen them from such an extreme distance that I felt like I hadn’t really seen them at all.

  5. Miz S 29 September, 2007 at 5:35 am #

    You are so wise for a young’un. I struggle to maintain balance between teaching and LIVING.

  6. mary 29 September, 2007 at 4:33 pm #

    Yes! Hop in the car and go. We all need to remember to do that from time to time. I don’t even have any kids at home and I forget about myself – A LOT. But, I am happy to say I am going on my first birding field trip with the local audubon on the 13th. I’m so excited!

  7. Laura 29 September, 2007 at 6:14 pm #

    Yes! Balance is important in teaching – it’s so easy for it to take over your life (that’s why I like teaching just part-time!)

    Sounds like a wonderful excuse to skip grading papers, Liza. Glad you enjoyed yourself!

  8. mon@rch 30 September, 2007 at 5:18 pm #

    Rest up for sure those colds will get ya!

  9. Lalita 4 October, 2007 at 12:54 am #

    I liked your post. Especially the part about obeyance to the goal of balance. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

