Maybe the bears DO care!

1 Oct

I recently wrote about the bears that frequent my parents’ deck up in the high Sierra mountains. As luck would have it . . . a photo op occurred and . . (well, if you read that post, I’ve got you good and scared now but have no fear, it’s not a picture of Igor in his Altogethers!) . . . I had to share!

The funny thing is that my parents don’t read my blog (they have the world’s slowest internet connection so anything with graphics is painfully slow so blogs don’t work really well for them) so they didn’t read my blog and spread out a bear buffet in order to lure in a bear for a photo op. But the world is funny like that, isn’t it? The fates smile and serendipity happens!

So, enjoy this visitor munching at their bird feeders. It’s a bebe bear. Look at those sweet little bebe claws. Yes, Stephen Colbert, it’s is a godless killing machine . . . but it’s a cute bebe one!

bebebear.jpg

10 Responses to “Maybe the bears DO care!”

  1. mon@rch 1 October, 2007 at 7:57 pm #

    I am very careful with the bears in my area and my feeder! During the summer if I do put seed in the feeder, it always comes in after dinner time. Ugg, feeders are not cheep!

  2. lizalee 1 October, 2007 at 11:31 pm #

    Yea, the bears usually wait until nightfall but this little one was hungry NOW!

  3. Miz S 2 October, 2007 at 1:48 am #

    COOL!

  4. jayne 2 October, 2007 at 2:50 am #

    Oh my!!!! Do you suppose mom was nearby too?

  5. robin andrea 2 October, 2007 at 1:23 pm #

    What a beautiful wild creature. I have to admit that I have a healthy fear of them, although nothing like Stephen Colbert!

  6. Mary 2 October, 2007 at 5:37 pm #

    Liza Lee! It’s a good looking bear… I’d love to have the photo opportunity. Oh, My!

  7. Susan Gets Native 2 October, 2007 at 6:48 pm #

    Yeah, they’re cute when they’re bebes…….but they GROW UP. I’ve had a healthy fear of bears ever since staying in Yellowstone when I was about 8. When I saw the dumpsters encased in concrete and all the rangers telling us what a bear could do….eep.

  8. KGMom 2 October, 2007 at 7:14 pm #

    Oh, so cool–but keep at a respectful distance. I love bears–and actually am peeved at Stephen Colbert for his joking fear of them.

  9. Bevson 16 October, 2007 at 3:57 pm #

    I have black bears strolling through my yard often. I do not feed the birds in the summer months (I do offer birdbaths of various types) but wait until the bears go down for the winter before I haul out the feeders. Sigh. Not yet….

  10. tarakrai 7 February, 2009 at 1:55 am #

    its active i say it cause its thin

Leave a Reply

