Lifeforce Sapping

4 Oct

I find it amazing what a microscopic organism can do to the human body.  Right now, my lifeforce is being attacked by a virus.  Well, by a virus and rampaging allergies — and that, my friends, is not a good combination.

My work/life balance is fragile (as well as being somewhat mythical, too).  I am trying to keep that balance working for me and not let my all-consuming job consume my life.  When I am sick as well, it gets really difficult.

Yesterday, we had a rough ol’ time at school but I survived.  Today, however, I am feeling worse — my head is NOT in the game.  I came home last night and did absolutely NO work whatsoever but hey that’s the way it goes.

So, I woke up to a sink full of dirty dishes and the feeling that life was really going to get ahead of me today.  I made my morning mochas, took my allergy meds and cold meds and now I’m waiting.  Hopefully some of the dim, head full of cotton feeling will go away over the next few minutes as the meds kick in.

But, I’m not exactly counting on it.  Maybe I’ll just survive today and tomorrow and then I can hibernate all weekend.  My poor children — Greg is going out of town for the weekend (leaving today) and I’ll be a barrel of laughs all weekend.  Oh goodie!

8 Responses to “Lifeforce Sapping”

  1. BEG 4 October, 2007 at 10:43 am #

    Aw, I hope you’re feeling better. I had to smile at the mocha, though. I make one, too, no matter how I feel.

    BTW, thought you might find this of interest:
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/passionatelypinkforthecure/

  2. NatureWoman 4 October, 2007 at 1:49 pm #

    I hope you’re feeling better Lizalee!

  3. mon@rch 4 October, 2007 at 2:31 pm #

    sorry to hear about your cold and I wish you are feeling better soon!

  4. lizalee 4 October, 2007 at 5:24 pm #

    Thanks for the good wishes. It was a good day today and I do feel MARGINALLY better. Yay!

  5. jayne 5 October, 2007 at 2:50 am #

    Ugh… I feel your pain Liza. The ragweed has been horrid here and we’ve all been snorting and sneezing. Hope you feel better this weekend.

  6. robin andrea 5 October, 2007 at 9:24 am #

    I see that you are feeling a bit better. Yay! I hope that your weekend is a good one, and that you get some rest.

  7. Mary 5 October, 2007 at 4:47 pm #

    Somehow, we survive. Isn’t that incredible? I hope you feel better this weekend. You will be OK…sleep well…the kids understand. Rest is the key…

  8. Wende 6 October, 2007 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry you’re sick. I feel you, I do. Holding good thoughts for your speedy recovery. May this bug not LINGER. (if it does, charge rent!)

Leave a Reply

