Beauty can be more than skin deep

7 Oct

mascara.jpg
Quick!  Who remembers that old Billy Crystal line about “It’s not the way you feel, it’s the way you look . . . and you look mahvelous!”

That’s how I feel about recovering from a cold.  I looked in the mirror this morning and thought, “Damn.  I DO look as bad as I feel.”  So, a little moisturizer, a little mascara, a little tinted lip balm, a brush through my hair and some clean clothes.  Beauty therapy.  Do I look my best?  Nope, but I look better than half-dead.   Did the beauty therapy really improve my cold symptoms?  Nope, but they gave my spirits a boost and that helps me feel better.
That said, however, the effort to look beautiful left me feeling somewhat draggy so I plunked myself back in front of the computer with a cup of my favorite cold remedy (see the recipe below) for a little rest break.  Can you tell how mahvelous I look as I type this?  Remember, it’s not the way you feel, it’s the way you look.

Working hard at feeling better
One big mug, one bag of Lemon Zinger, and a generous dollop of local honey — it’s a good thing!

 

And a quick, heartfelt Thank You! to Wende at evidently.org for reminding me that it was time to worry less about how I feel today and more about how I look!   For someone so self-absorbed, she sure gives good advice! 🙂

4 Responses to “Beauty can be more than skin deep”

  1. Mary 7 October, 2007 at 3:56 pm #

    Your entries on Chickadee Chatter are so beautifully written, Liza Lee. Bravo! I love them all – can’t pick a fave. The photo of Gage is sweet…

    A little make-up wakes me up every day. I try not to go without it :o)

  2. Wende 8 October, 2007 at 10:56 am #

    Oh, look…. a post with my NAME in it… that calls for another roll of paper towels. 😀

    I’m glad you’re looking better… hope it works. 😀

  3. Miz S 9 October, 2007 at 1:26 am #

    Yup. Wende’s full of it, I always say.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. www.remediesthatheal.info » Beauty can be more than skin deep - 9 October, 2007

    […] lizalee wrote a fantastic post today on “Beauty can be more than skin deep”Here’s ONLY a quick extractThat said, however, the effort to look beautiful left me feeling somewhat draggy so I plunked myself back in front of the computer with a cup of my favorite cold remedy (see the recipe below) for a little rest break. … […]

Leave a Reply

