Shake, rattle, and roll

30 Oct

 seismogram.gif

We had a bit of rockin’ and rollin’ here tonight. A 5.6 magnitude quake hit near San Jose. We felt it pretty good here. This was the first earthquake the kids have really felt. We’ve had a few microquakes near Boulder Creek in the past but this was a good jolting quake. 5.6 isn’t anything that is going to cause major damage in the US, thank goodness but it does get your attention. The kids and I went for doorways because you never know if it’s starting small and building up or if that’s all there is.Thhe kids were wound up aftewards — particularly Ruthie. Talk-talk-talk-talk-talk. I got on the internet right away to report it to the USGS “Did You Feel It?” website. We reported it within 3 minutes. You can take a look at a map here that shows responses from citizens in nearby communities. The kids helped me to evaluate it and we put our results in. We were the only responders from Boulder Creek. The kids really appreciated that we were helping scientists. Pretty cool.Evidently, this is the biggest local quake since the Loma Prieta quake of 1989. That quake was so memorable. I never feel a tremor now without wondering if this is another “big one.” Thankfully, this one wasn’t and I had a chance to help the kids get through it, talk about why we respond in certain ways, and have them experience it safely.

If you are curious, you can take a look at the seismograph reading from San Bruno Mountain station. {click}

10 Responses to “Shake, rattle, and roll”

  1. Wende 30 October, 2007 at 10:54 pm #

    I was in Lake Country when the Loma Prieta struck and we felt that roll for minutes. I’m glad to hear you’re doing well!

  2. amarkonmywall 30 October, 2007 at 11:12 pm #

    WOW! Okay, this is very cool in a Big Weather sort of way and you know how I love that. I mean, it’s not but it is and these links are pretty interesting. I like the seismograph reading. WOW.

    I only felt one earthquake ever and that was in Michigan in January of 1986. Abby was 3 weeks old and I was nursing her when the house started to tremble. I couldn’t imagine earthquake in Michigan so I blamed it on the builders but it was, indeed, a small quake.

    Like Wende, glad everything is intact around there.

  3. amarkonmywall 30 October, 2007 at 11:40 pm #

    Since I’m STILL awake I googled the 1986 one and found this:
    1986 Jan 31 16 46 42.3 41.650 81.162 5.0 VI III Perry, OH

    So it was 5.0, with the epicenter about 60 miles south of us on the Ohio border. Smaller than yours tonight. Okay, g’night.

  4. Trixie 31 October, 2007 at 12:05 am #

    Did you live in Boulder Creek for the Loma Prieta? I lived in Santa Cruz at the time. I will never forget it.

  5. lizalee 31 October, 2007 at 5:18 am #

    Thanks for the comment-love, all. I lived in Palo Alto for the Loma Prieta — it was rather intense. It was the first quake that I’d been outside for. I should probably write an “ant” blog entry about it sometime. Santa Cruz got nailed by Loma Prieta — so much damage — SF/Oakland got so much attention but I remember watching the coverage and thinking that silence about Santa Cruz and environs was kind of eerie.

  6. lizalee 31 October, 2007 at 5:29 am #

    Robin Andrea and Roger did not like the welcome they got when they came back to Santa Cruz {click}.

  7. Sandy 31 October, 2007 at 1:17 pm #

    Glad it wasn’t that bad. Heard about it when I got up this morning.

  8. robin andrea 31 October, 2007 at 4:12 pm #

    That was quite a jolting reminder of the really big one. I was definitely not ready to be shaking this soon after arriving back in Santa Cruz. I feel about it the way Vicki does, there is something cool about such phenomenon, in a big weather sort of way.

  9. mary 31 October, 2007 at 4:45 pm #

    Liza, I’m so glad that’s all there was! I heard about the quake yesterday but didn’t realize you were affected! It’s so exciting for children (and Ruthie). A learning experience, definitely. Glad you are OK.

  10. Mary Carlson 31 October, 2007 at 9:47 pm #

    Hi Liza – I thought of you last night when the quake happened. I wondered if you felt it as strongly as we did. It’s funny how each one of these temblors can be so different. Last night seemed to be more of a rumbling kind whereas the Loma Prieta was one that moved side to side. It’s also funny how we lived in different parts of the Bay Area – I was living in Cupertino in 1989; and this year I’m in San Jose, near Los Gatos. I’m really glad there was no damage to speak of; and I surely hope it was just a stress reliever and not just a preliminary for a bigger one.

Leave a Reply

