Ooooo! Look! A bird-related post!

7 Nov

Our friends at 10,000 Birds are at it again.  First they told us about an amazing new book, Bird — it immediately went on my Amazon Wish List (hint, hint!).  Then they upped the ante.  They are hosting a contest and the prize is one of 5 copies of this amazing book.  All you have to do is write an essay about your favorite bird species.  Send it in.  Each week for the next 5 weeks, they’ll pick a winner!  (Winner!) And, the winner will win the book, Bird.

So, my job is now clear.  Somehow in the next few weeks, in between grading the huge stack of ungraded stuff, parent conferences, report cards, and still teaching my students each day, I’ve got to write a brilliant essay about my favorite bird species.  Oh crap.

5 Responses to “Ooooo! Look! A bird-related post!”

  1. amarkonmywall 7 November, 2007 at 7:42 am #

    Okay- I’m off to search my documents for a bit I wrote about Carolina Wrens! This is going to be fun. Thanks for the link lizalee-alliteration! lol.

  2. bevson 7 November, 2007 at 11:14 am #

    Yikes. First I have to decide what is my favorite bird…..

  3. robin andrea 7 November, 2007 at 2:07 pm #

    A favorite bird? I don’t know if I can pick just one. A great idea, though, but I bet the competition will be tough. It turns out that birdwatchers are very good writers. Who knew?

  4. mary 7 November, 2007 at 5:46 pm #

    And I know what your favorite bird will be… a Raven perhaps?

  5. mon@rch 7 November, 2007 at 8:29 pm #

    wish you luck and I agree with mary, I thought Raven might be your fave also!

Leave a Reply

