It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

15 Dec

CafePress.com etsy.com

And, I’m beginning to feel a lot more Christmasy.  Between being sick, being broke, and being overwhelmed at work, Christmas spirit has been in short supply lately.  The sick is getting better, the broke healed itself, and the overwhelmed at work . . . well, I’m just 5 days away from Winter Break.  How overwhelmed could I possibly be at this point?

So, last night, high on too much caffeine at dinner, I stayed up and got my shopping done.  The three organizations featured above were prominant in my shopping success.  Add to it The Container Store and you’ve pretty much got my shopping experience down.

I was an early adopter of online shopping and used Amazon back when they still had a river in their logo!  I love books and as a new mother with three jobs, I did not have time to go shopping (and don’t ask how I read, I was a nursing mother and I’d read with the kid in one arm and a book in the other!).  I know that the first year I did online shopping, I got all my shopping done by Halloween.  Clearly THAT’S not happening anymore but still I’ll get my stuff on time.  Amazon has a service called Amazon Prime and I love it.  For around $80 a year, I get free 2-day shipping on anything that I order from Amazon (except items sold by third parties THROUGH Amazon of which there are many, many items).  Basically it works out that I pay for that at Christmas time and get to buy books and have them shipped 2-day for free all year.  It’s a true bargain in my opinion.  Oh, and if 2-day isn’t fast enough, I can ship overnight for just $3.99.  Yippee!

Cafepress is an amazing organization.  Individuals can create designs and then set up a store with their designs on products.  Cafepress hosts the site, handles the transaction, prints the items, and ships the items out.  Then they send you a check for a percentage of what they sell with your design on it.  So totally cool!  They have billions of cool designs on their site.  I found holiday tees for all of us (Hey, it works for us.  We’re THAT family!  Get over it!  One Christmas we ALL wore red plaid shirts from Hanna Anderson — I have no control and I’m unashamed!  Although our holiday tees this year are NOT matchy-matchy!)

santa2002.jpg

Etsy is even better if you can believe it.  They don’t handle production or shipping but they do host the sites, link with Paypal for easy payments, and provide a way for small crafters to easily sell their wares to a world-wide market.  I found some absolutely amazing things there this year that I can’t share yet because some of my recipients DO read my blog.  🙂

The only real world shopping I did was today.  I went to Toys R Us and bought the kids’ gifts.  It was remarkably pleasant.  The store was crowded and crazy but I got plenty of help up to and including a sales person seeing me walking around with my arms full (my cart had disappeared) — she got me a new cart!  So nice!  And, I walked right up to the cashier when I was done.  Yay!  I even donated a bunch of batteries to Toys for Tots on the way out at the urging of the sales clerk.   One of the clerks even gave me a heads up that they were getting a shipment of Wiis in tomorrow and they would go on sale at 6am.  We talked about it but decided we’d spent enough money right now and would wait for another time!

So, all in all, I’m thrilled with the Christmas shopping situation.   Now, the decorating situation is another kettle of fish.  We are getting our carpets cleaned on Tuesday which means moving all the furniture out of the living and dining rooms.  So, there is NO decorating until Wednesday night when hopefully it’s all dry enough to move the furniture back again.  Yikes!  That’s cutting it close in my opinion.  But, that’s the way the dice fell this year.  C’est la vie!

8 Responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!”

  1. Miz S 16 December, 2007 at 3:34 am #

    I can totally relate to the “overwhelmed at work” thing. Are your students a little whacked out as we move closer to the break? Mine are.

  2. jayne 16 December, 2007 at 4:02 am #

    Oh I love shopping at Amazon. I always get to know my UPS man so well during this time of year! I will NOT go anywhere NEAR the mall. Period. So, if I can’t order it on line, forget it. :c) I also have the Amazon Prime and think it’s the bargain of the century too! Happy carpet cleaning and decorating Liza!

  3. NatureWoman 16 December, 2007 at 6:00 am #

    Same here with Amazon! I discovered it years ago in a very primitive browser – I think it was Netscape. I think I’ve done a great job keeping them in business myself! LOL!! I’m going to check out the other two websites you mentioned. Thanks!

  4. jodyss 16 December, 2007 at 8:22 am #

    Well, well, well…this is certainly an intriguing post. Hmmmm…

    In all seriousness though, glad you’re feeling less stressed.

    See you soon!

  5. lizalee 16 December, 2007 at 10:09 am #


    MizS, are the kids whacked out? Are you kidding? I had to be the Meanest Teacher in the World last week because 1/2 my class — including some of my best students — did not get the THREE required assignments done. It’s insane. Thankfully this week, academic expectations are loooooooow but still . . .

    Jayne & Pam — Dedicated Amazonites Unite! I love that business. I really love the reviews — being able to read what people THOUGHT about products really informs my buying decisions.

    Jody, my darling sister, you should be intrigued! [insert evil laugh]

  6. amarkonmywall 16 December, 2007 at 8:59 pm #

    I am a big fan of Etsy. I’m thinking of going Etsy. When you see what I’ve been up to while confined to quarters with a bone graft in my jaw a stitches in the roof of my mouth, you will be interested. Promise.
    I LOVE pictures of children with Mall Santas. This one in your photo is particularly twinkly and the children look like angels. 🙂

  7. mary 17 December, 2007 at 6:39 am #

    That’s a great picture of Ruthie and Gage. Usually, there is a child who looks frightened! LOL!

    We used to shop on-line for 90% of our shopping when our lists were long. Gina loved JCrew, Lands End, etc. But now, it’s not too hard to shop for fewer adults and only one little nephew. I agree, on-line is the best.

  8. Draftnik 17 December, 2007 at 6:51 am #

    Oh, I like that Esty site. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

