Ravens — You gotta Love Them

17 Dec

More in the series wherein Liza tries to take pictures of Ravens and they see her coming with her camera and laugh in her face in their raveny way.

Ravens love to sit in the tippy-top of trees. At this time of year, it makes me think of angels on the top of a Christmas tree. The raven below saw me coming with my camera and bolted. But, the laugh is on him (her?) because look at these great flying shots.

P1110957.JPG

Still, why should I have to put up with their rotten ways. They regularly do this to me. Pose beautifully when I have no camera but the second I get the camera up near eye level . . . they’re gone. Rotten things!

P1110958.JPG

and last, but not least, raven poop.

Raven Poop

Do I need to tell you that I thought this poop was dry so I flicked it off the railing with my fingernail and learned to my horror and dismay that it was pretty fresh. Damned ravens!

I do love them dearly but still . . .

8 Responses to “Ravens — You gotta Love Them”

  1. Miz S 17 December, 2007 at 3:07 am #

    I love your raven obsession.

  2. lizalee 17 December, 2007 at 6:05 am #

    Even when it involves poop?

  3. mon@rch 17 December, 2007 at 6:06 am #

    I just know how much you love these guys! Wish mine would let me get close enough for a photo or two!

  4. Lynne at Hasty Brook 17 December, 2007 at 6:31 am #

    I have never been close enought to a rave to even think of taking a picture! I come here for my raven fix!! But only you Liza would post a photo of raven poo!

  5. mary 17 December, 2007 at 6:44 am #

    It would be a rare thing for me to see a Raven in these parts. I just looked them up on the Cornell site and learned about their “fighter jet” flying skills. They must be so entertaining and beautiful (not like their poop). LOL!

  6. NatureWoman 17 December, 2007 at 3:44 pm #

    Ewwwww, wet poop, ewwwww! I love your raven photos!

  7. Luma 16 May, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Actually…ahem…I am trying to find out what Raven droppings look like (strange, I know). Voila, happy to find your site and love for these smartypant critters. But I can’t tell from your picture…is the dark blob the poop? Or the white splatter next to it?? Since aren’t bird droppings white? Or is raven poo dark like the raven? Do tell 🙂

    • lizalee 20 May, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      Both. Bird droppings reflect what they are eating and sometimes have different colors. But, yes, the dark and the splatter! Glad we could help!

Leave a Reply

