Wordless Wednesday – Waiting in the Wings

19 Dec

Waiting in the wings

 

10 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Waiting in the Wings”

  1. lizalee 19 December, 2007 at 12:22 am #

    I can’t resist pointing out that there were six or more Ravens and Crows in this tree until I showed up with my camera. Rotten birds!

  2. MomOnTheGo 19 December, 2007 at 1:58 am #

    I think that the isolation of the one crow is pretty powerful. Great shot.

  3. lizalee 19 December, 2007 at 6:18 am #

    Thanks! He’s a Raven. The crows headed off for the telephone lines. It was such a beautiful scene but booooooy do I wish I had gotten the shot with all of them all over that tree!

  4. BEG 19 December, 2007 at 9:05 am #

    Great shot. I love how persimmon trees lose all their leaves but not the fruit. It certainly makes them instantly recognizable.

    You’ve probably patiently explained this before, but what are quick ways to distinguish between ravens and crows?

  5. mon@rch 19 December, 2007 at 5:10 pm #

    Happy Wordless Wednesday and love this shot! Thought of you today when I saw a few Ravens!

  6. lizalee 19 December, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    BEG and all, Ravens are much bigger birds than crows. They have a massive beak and they get all ruffed up in their head and neck when they are showing off. Crows are smaller with a more delicate line to them.

    Side by side, they are very different looking. However, when you just see one by itself, it’s pretty easy to get them confused. I’ve seen enough Ravens now that I’m not confused for long anymore but still . . . they are both large all black birds!

    Oh, and Ravens say, “Nevermore.” Crows just don’t. 😉

  7. mary 20 December, 2007 at 5:52 am #

    I first saw this post very late last night and first I thought, “Wow, they grow tomato trees in California?” Then I went to bed :o/

  8. lizalee 20 December, 2007 at 6:19 am #

    🙂 🙂 🙂 Too funny, Mary!

  9. Sarala 28 December, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    Beautiful shot and birds.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wordless Wednesday — The One I SHOULD Have Gotten! « The Egret’s Nest - 19 December, 2007

    […] Pssst. If you are just getting here, I lost my mind and did TWO Wordless Wednesdays this week. Don’t miss the other! It’s way birdier! {click} […]

Leave a Reply

