Happy Valentine’s Day Bird Lovers!

14 Feb

Raven Courtship

Yes, I’m wearing my t-shirt today! It’s gorgeous weather here this week – 72 degrees! I’m glad I got a short sleeved shirt!

The ravens are definitely feeling the romantic vibes in the warm spring-like air around here and are showing signs of love. Here is my valentine for all of you. A video of noisy ravens! Enjoy!

There are three ravens making noises — two on the ground and one in a tree nearby.  This is something I see often in our ravens.  When some are on the ground looking for food, one will be keeping watch from the tall trees nearby.  The one in the tree started all the noise when I walked too close.  Eventually, they took off because I was, in fact, too close for comfort.    Given the way my ravens normally react when they see my camera, I was amazed to get as close as I did.  🙂

8 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day Bird Lovers!”

  1. Liza Lee Miller 13 February, 2008 at 10:52 pm #

    PS. After posting this, I saw an amazing sight. Two ravens billing and cooing in a tree. On the other half of the tree, two crows similarly engaged in billing and cooing. It was amazing. Oh,and the pictures? You don’t think I had my camera, do you? They wouldn’t be just sitting there being amazing if I had my camera! Sheesh!

  2. NatureWoman 14 February, 2008 at 3:44 am #

    LOL Liza! Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too!

  3. Beth 14 February, 2008 at 3:49 am #

    Great shots–I love the ravens.
    Beth

  4. jayne 14 February, 2008 at 3:49 am #

    What a sweet looking couple! Happy Valentine’s Day to you too Liza!

  5. robin andrea 14 February, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your romantic ravens. Yes, the weather here is unbelievably beautiful. Ah, spring.

  6. mary 14 February, 2008 at 11:14 am #

    What lovebirds! They don’t sound exactly like crows, but just as loud. Happy Valentine’s Day, Liza. I hope it’s a sweet one for you.

  7. Trixie 14 February, 2008 at 12:47 pm #

    Very exciting! I am glad you got a raven-y valentine’s day.

  8. mon@rch 16 February, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    How I would have loved to be in a T-shirt and great video! They make such amazing sounds!

Leave a Reply

