Gorgeous bird art

1 Mar
Being at the Quilt Show last weekend, got me thinking about bird art again. I revisited the post I did from the Pacific International Quilt show and was impressed again by the interpretation of birds in fabric.

Three Guinea Fowl

Three Guinea Fowl by Pamela Allen

Birds are springing up in art all over the place.

Of course, the amazing Julie Zickefoose rates high on anyone list of bird artists.

Another artist I enjoy is Pajama Mama. She doesn’t have a lot of birds but they are wonderful!

I also discovered Gina Mikel — I love her Puffin — so cute!

I can’t believe how lovely these prints by Kareem Rizk are. Wow!

My “favorites” list at etsy has some amazing bird art as well.There is a fantastic online exhibit of bird art at the Hill Ornithology Collection at Cornell University Library.

Someday, I’ll have time to create quilts again and you can be sure that birds will feature prominently in my quilting efforts. In the meantime, I’ll have to enjoy my bird art in other ways!

So, question.  Do you have a favorite bird artist that I need to know about?

7 Responses to “Gorgeous bird art”

  1. robin andrea 1 March, 2008 at 8:07 am #

    I don’t have a favorite bird artist, but I love Asian art depictions of birds painted on silk. I especially like paintings of cranes.

  2. mon@rch 1 March, 2008 at 4:29 pm #

    I just love seeing these different kinds of bird art! Without a doubt Julie’s has to be my fave!

  3. mary 1 March, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Liza, Julie wins my prize. There is Toni at “A Spattering” in Erie, PA who does great work.

    http://kellyinkstudio.blogspot.com/

    She has used some of Mon@rch’s photo to paint.

    I like that Chickadee photo!

  4. jayne 1 March, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    Those are all so beautiful! Such talented artists.

  5. KGMom 1 March, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the various views of birds in art. Wondrous variety.

  6. Liza Lee Miller 2 March, 2008 at 7:28 am #

    Thanks for sharing the link to A Spattering, Mary! I just visited her blog and loved it. Her combination of bird art and calligraphy is very appealing! Yay, a new find!

  7. Gina Mikel 22 May, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

