My House Monday and Susan ROCKS!

14 Apr

Remember back when my countertops first arrived at home finally? Remember! (I know my sister doesn’t remember because she didn’t know about the new truck!) Remember the stir over my toe rings — well, I say stir to make it seem more interesting than it really was. Anyway, remember all that? Well, Susan does! Sweet, amazing, talented Susan does remember! And, she liked the whole toe ring thing and asked me if I was interested in a Susan Gets Native original toe ring! Was I? Was I? Oh, yes, I was.

Still, one doesn’t like to seem greedy so I politely said, “Oh, please! Please! Please!” And, guess what? Susan came through. I got a package in the mail today with not one, not toe, but a bazillion toe rings. They are so gorgeous. Look. . .

Toe Rings by Susan Gets Native

I was so amazed! I wondered how beaded toe rings would work but she did them on this lovely stretchy plastic string stuff so they are totally comfy, totally easy to put on and off. I adore them. Now, I have a toe ring wardrobe!

Please ignore the fact that I desperately need a pedicure (or at least some polish!) but look at how cute those toe rings are! Susan! You ROCK!

Toe Rings on my toes

Meanwhile, in other news, I finished installing the kitchen tile. And the grout. Greg put in the sink and cooktop! I’m beyond excited. This might actually get finished WITHIN MY LIFETIME! Woooo-hoooo!

Tile installed

Updating the todo list:

  • installing backsplash tiles
  • Butcher block counter
  • Cutting holes for sink and cooktop
  • installing sink and cooktop
  • reconnecting all plumbing
  • doing dance of joy that my sink and dishwasher are operable again!
  • install behind cooktop backsplash
  • finish installing the cabinet inserts
  • finish installing cabinet doors
  • install door/drawer handles
  • install microwave
  • clean everything within an inch of it’s life
  • load up my cabinets and get used to having a kitchen again
  • Then think about the flooring and how much we want it installed! 🙂 (We have to work out a few issues with installation, first!)
  • Behind the stove tiles!

    Behind the cooktop backsplash – gorgeous brushed stainless tiles

    Grout!

    Grout is done but clean-up remains. Grout is a pain in the butt but look how gorgeous that is!!!

8 Responses to “My House Monday and Susan ROCKS!”

  1. jayne 14 April, 2008 at 2:29 am #

    Love the toe rings, but the tile REALLY rocks! What a great job you did Liza! Whoo-hoooo indeed!

  2. Susan Gets Native 14 April, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    You are so very welcome, Liza dear. I’m glad you like them!
    Toe rings are tough because they are soooooo tiny. But once I got started, I couldn’t stop myself.
    That tile behind the stove top is awesome. Please fly yourself to Ohio and re-do MY kitchen.

  3. phyllis 14 April, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    the stove backsplash is *amazing* ! i had never seen steel tiles. the whole thing is awesome, of course 🙂 including the toe rings.

  4. Trixie 14 April, 2008 at 9:42 am #

    Everything is GORGEOUS! That includes Susan’s amazing toe rings. She has turned into quite the obsessed beader.

    Your kitchen is going to be such a lovely center of family activity. Nice transformation.

  5. robin andrea 14 April, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    Those toe rings are fantastic. Very cool and they look great on your toes.

    The kitchen is fantastic. I absolutely love that brushed stainless tile. What a great look. Excellent job.

  6. Jen Miller 14 April, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    Having just seen the emerging kitchen in person, I can say that these photos, while EXCELLENT, do not give the glowing color and luminosity of the tile, counters and stainless justice!

  7. Mary 14 April, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Liza, Susan does beautiful beadwork. I’ve seen beaders’ work before but Susan’s definitely ROCKS. I have a bracelet from her and can’t wait to wear it with a spring/summer outfit :o)

    Hey, your kitchen is fabulous. Your choices in color, granite, tile, etc. are perfect! It’s bright and inviting. I’d hate to cook in it – not wanting to mess it up.

  8. Liza Lee Miller 14 April, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    All your comments make my day but Mary’s is the BEST! You thought the counters are granite? Yahoo! They are the laminate countertops from Home Depot — just cheap ol’ laminate but we were pretty sure we picked a good one! Yay!

    All of you — thanks! And, Susan, the toerings are still super comfortable! You really do ROCK!

Leave a Reply

