Why I love my daughter

24 Apr

Ruth

My daughter is funny and sassy and smart. Ooooo, she’s smart. And, she’s totally not afraid to show it and use it and be it.

She walked into my 5th grade classroom today with her little 4th grade self and said, “Why is there such easy math on the board?” A couple of my 5th graders (smarties themselves) stood their with their mouths open. I just had to laugh. She owns her smarts!

From Amby’s Math Resources

Last night, we were watching American Idol (the performances for this week on TiVO). I was dissing David Archuleta (I believe I said something to the effect that he sure can suck the life out of a song). Weeeeeeeeeell, Miss Ruth took exception because she was thinking how cool he was. She got ticked and glared at her father and I (he had agreed with my assessment). We realized our gaff and pointed out to her that it was totally normal and healthy and FINE for her to a) disagree with us about a singer on American Idol and b) to tell us that she thought we were all wrong about the very sweet, very cute, and very young Mr Archuleta. She looked me in the eye and said, “He didn’t suck the life out of that song.” That’s my girl!

(Of course, he did so suck the life out of it!)

Could it be the beginnings of hormonal crushes? Who knows. But, my girl told me I was all wrong and that’s all right!

10 Responses to “Why I love my daughter”

  1. Kevin H. 24 April, 2008 at 1:38 am #

    Your daughter seems to be full of life and you celebrate her “spunk” nicely. I love how you capture her looks. SO much is said with the eyes, right?
    Thanks for sharing.
    Kevin

  2. jayne 24 April, 2008 at 2:31 am #

    I think Archuleta will win due to the massive fondness the little girlies have for him. That, and his cute cheeks! Me, I am a David Cook girl all the way baby! :c) Indeed, she can learn that her opinions DO matter too. Way to go mom!

  3. robin andrea 24 April, 2008 at 6:34 am #

    Your Ruthie is a beauty. Look at that face. It’s great that you gave her loving permission to disagree with you. What a wonderful way to show her that she can be her own person and still have your love. I agree with Jayne, “Way to go mom!”

  4. Mike 24 April, 2008 at 6:46 am #

    What a cutie! That combination of beauty, brains, and personality will take her far.

    And thanks for shedding light on the source of David A.’s popularity. I agree with your assessment completely!

  5. Trixie 24 April, 2008 at 9:39 am #

    I don’t know a thing about American Idol, but I do know Firecracker Girls. I *LOVE* little Firecracker Girls! I’ve got two. They are so interesting to be around. Perhaps later they will be more challenging. We’ll just have to hold on and see. And, why am I not surprised you are raising a Firecracker, too? 😉

  6. Mary 24 April, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    Your sassy, smart daughter has a mind of her own and she’s not afraid to let others know it. She will be strong woman and a happy one! She’s wonderful.

    But, I think she’s smitten with David :o) I like the other David (Cook). And the guy with the dreadlocks has gotta go!

  7. Wende 24 April, 2008 at 6:44 pm #

    That’s just the way we want them: smart and willing to speak their minds. (She’s pretty darn cute, too!) Ahem. 😀

    But I’m sorry, I agree with Ruth; David was the only one who made that (hack) ALW sound contemporary. I mean, if I wanted to watch broadway, I GO! I’m waiting for NIN night. 😀

  8. Wende 24 April, 2008 at 6:45 pm #

    “I’d GO.” See… I was all wound up. 😀

  9. Susan Gets Native 24 April, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    Girlfriend told YOU, didn’t she?

    It is going to be SO much fun to see these Firecracker Girls, as Trixie called them, grow into kick-ass women.

  10. rat 14 May, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    Wow, she has her mother’s gaze.

Leave a Reply

