They do know!

2 May

Raven . . . toe tapping

There is a long running joke that I have with my family and my students about my Raven friends. The joke is that when they see me with my camera, they are gone in a flash. However, if I have no camera, then I can get very close to them, they’ll say and do amazing things (tap dancing?). Other birds do this to me as well but none so well as my Raven friends.

Well, according to an article that my husband sent to me yesterday, they do know. My only hope is that they say that the birds can learn that something isn’t a threat after all. Maybe, the ravens will figure that out about my camera. Fingers crossed!

For more great bird reading, visit Consworld for the latest edition of I and the Bird!  And, if you still want more nature stuff, the Festival of the Trees is being hosted by 10,000 Birds.  Now you have reading material for the entire weekend!  Hurrah!

4 Responses to “They do know!”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook 2 May, 2008 at 5:41 am #

    Cool picture! Ravens are shy and seem to avoid people here in northern Minnesota. I’ve never been close to one.

  2. robin andrea 2 May, 2008 at 6:29 am #

    What a great photograph, Liza. That raven does look like he’s tap-dancing. The pair of ravens that come to our yard are among the more skittish birds. I’ve only gotten to photograph them twice in four years! If I make any move in the window, they’re gone.

  3. Sandy 2 May, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    Oh yes, I do think they know. But it is not just ravens, it is all birds for me.

  4. mon@rch 2 May, 2008 at 6:20 pm #

    Maybe if your get a new camera that they have never seen before . . . seems like they know what my camera looks like also!

Leave a Reply

