Bird Report from Morro Bay

3 May

My Morro Bay trip was more about family fun and frivolity than birding. Still, I did manage a little birding while I was there. Some (the Turkeys) seemed to come and find me. Others were there at just the right moment. Still others flew by but were not id’d. There was a few tiny birds in the trees around our campsites but I never saw them well enough to id them. They were totally flitters — never settled anywhere long enough to be id’d. Probably Vireos or Kinglets but no way to tell for sure.

Wild Turkey – Meleagris gallopavo 3
California Quail – Callipepla californica X
Western Grebe – Aechmophorus occidentalis 1
Great Blue Heron – Ardea herodias 1
Great Egret – Ardea alba 2
Snowy Egret – Egretta thula 2
Turkey Vulture – Cathartes aura X
Anna’s Hummingbird – Calypte anna X
Costa’s Hummingbird – Calypte costae 1 LIFER!
Chestnut-backed Chickadee – Poecile rufescens X
Bewick’s Wren – Thryomanes bewickii 1 LIFER! Oops – not a lifer.  Already on my list.  Sigh.
Dark-eyed Junco (Oregon) – Junco hyemalis [oreganus Group] X
House Finch – Carpodacus mexicanus 4

Annoyed House Finch
“Go away! You’re giving away my hiding place! Stop taking pictures! GO AWAY! NOW!”

I think my favorite bird of the trip was this irritated female House Sparrow. Don’t you love the way she’s giving me the hairy eyeball? My crime, you ask? Well, I found her nest! She was nesting under the eaves of a little cafe by the water. She was not happy to see me, I’ll tell you.

So, yes, I went away!

7 Responses to “Bird Report from Morro Bay”

  1. jayne 3 May, 2008 at 2:44 am #

    A very cool list Liza! LOL on mom house finch… indeed she was trying to give you the “evil eye.” :c)

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook 3 May, 2008 at 4:45 am #

    RRruuuunn!!!

  3. robin andrea 3 May, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    What a look. She’s one tough little bird.

  4. mon@rch 3 May, 2008 at 4:13 pm #

    Wow, such an amazing trip you had and congrats on the lifers!

  5. Mary 3 May, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    HA! House Finches are great at giving hairy eyeballs. Always looking annoyed but not too shy around the camera. Great shot!

  6. Wende 3 May, 2008 at 8:57 pm #

    Oh, I love that shot. That bird is wonderful. I really like that image, Liza. It would make a terrific card! (yes, I spend too much time on etsy)

  7. Liza Lee Miller 3 May, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    Thanks! It’s funny, isn’t it? How we spend hours searching for something exotic to take a picture of but it’s the simple homey things like a House Finch that really speak to people.

Leave a Reply

