We’re off again!

16 May

Route to Albion

We’re off again! This time we’re heading north to the Mendocino coast to a little spot called Albion. We are joining family up there — a blended family, of course.  My sister-in-law, Jennifer, her main squeeze, and her two sons are driving up with my mother-in-law.  My parents are arriving from the eastern Sierras on their own.  We’ll also be meeting some of the Main Squeeze’s diving buddies there.

That is the main lure.  Diving.  Abalone diving.  The eating will be good.  Very, very good.  As for me, I’ll be relaxing, talking, reading, sleeping, and spending time with my mom.  She had shoulder surgery a couple of weeks ago and is in the midst of her long and painful recovery. I’m really looking forward to spending some time with her and I hope that I can avoid getting grumpy and irritated with her.  I seem to be grumpy and irritated a lot lately . . . with everyone.

It’s been hot here.  Heat wave city.  No air conditioning in my classroom despite the fact that it is 2 years old. The powers that be decided that we didn’t have enough hot days a year to justify air conditioning.  All I can say to that is, “Fine!  You come and hang out with a bunch of 5th grade students after PE when it’s 100 degrees in the classroom!”  Add to that the stress of a major due date for the students and Open House on Thursday night and I don’t think my migraine this week needs much explanation.  Thankfully, it’s receding.

Still, hot weather is NOT my thing so when I saw this forecast for the weekend, I was soooooo glad that we will be in Albion, on the coast where it will be a perfect 70 degrees!  Blissfully cool but not cold.  Perfect!

8 Responses to “We’re off again!”

  1. jayne 16 May, 2008 at 2:29 am #

    Have a wonderful time Liza. Hope your mom is recovering well. Shoulder surgery is never easy, that’s for sure. Ugh, can’t even imagine the “aroma” in your classroom in the heat…lol. I’d be grumpy too. Enjoy your time away and blessings for a safe journey. :c)

  2. robin andrea 16 May, 2008 at 6:46 am #

    Those coastal temperatures look perfect. I hope the weekend is a very good one, and that your time with your mom is sweet.

  3. Bobbie 16 May, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    Abalone! That’s exciting! Bring back beautiful pictures.

  4. Trixie 16 May, 2008 at 9:42 am #

    Good heavens! What dreadful temperatures in BC. I am so glad you are escaping. I wonder if Albion will have the fog sucked right up to the coast? Hmmm….enjoy.

    When is school done for you?

  5. Phyllis 17 May, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    can i come with you? it’ll be 99 today.

  6. Mary 17 May, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    Have a wonderful holiday. Sounds like you need it. I’m surprised about your heat – I heard about it on the news. The beach will take care of that! Sometimes it’s hard to be patient with our parents…I wish your Mom a speedy recovery.

  7. Liza Lee Miller 17 May, 2008 at 8:21 pm #

    Report from Albion! It is fantastic weather. The drive up was miserably hot! So hot the air conditioner in the motorhome couldn’t keep up. Blech. The coast was lovely though — about 75. Way cool at night, of course. Saturday was warm again. We took a boat trip up the river and when we came back “SURPRISE!” The fog had come in. It played around all afternoon in and out. It’s fantastic here though. Loving it!

  8. Pam 18 May, 2008 at 3:08 am #

    Enjoy yourselves!! Can’t wait to see pics and read the details.

Leave a Reply

