The one that got away . . .

29 May

The other morning, Ruby was barking like mad at something in the backyard. I went to the backdoor to see what it was. She ran out the dog door and over to a tree. I couldn’t see a squirrel in the tree anywhere and then, suddenly, my vision focused and I realized what I did see. There was a Great Blue Heron in the tree. Gulp.

I ran for my camera but by the time I got back . . . gone.

I couldn’t really be irritated with Ruby — that’s a pretty big bird to be hanging in the yard. Still, pretty cool backyard bird, huh?

I have gotten pics of Great Blues before though . . . here’s one from Elkhorn Slough. Or rather three from Elkhorn Slough!

Great Blue Herons on the Slough
(It’s way better large . . . go ahead and click on it so you can see!)

4 Responses to “The one that got away . . .”

  1. jayne 29 May, 2008 at 3:48 am #

    Holy cow! A blue heron in your backyard tree? Amazing! Such a smart birder, that Ruby. ;c)

  2. robin andrea 29 May, 2008 at 6:25 am #

    Yes, that’s a very cool backyard bird. Every backyard should have one!

  3. Neefer 29 May, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    I saw one floating thru the air by my house the other day. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me.

    They are very cool.

  4. Susan Gets Native 29 May, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    How many peeps can claim a great blue heron as a yard bird? Whoot!

Leave a Reply

