Another year is over

12 Jun

Macro flower
Breathe in some more tiny pink perfection

The school year ends today.  I will say goodbye to 28 students who have come to mean so much to me.  Some of them will come back and visit me.  Some will move on without a backward glance. Some are ready to move on.  Some did not find what they needed (or thought they needed) in my classroom.  It has been a good year.  It’s also been a hard year.  I had challenging students, needy students, bored students, and students who struggled to keep up.  I tried to meet them all where they were and move them forward.

Being a teacher means that I am as hard on myself as I am on my students.  I want them to move forward and grow and do their best.  I expect no less from myself.  I struggle to move forward, to grow, to always do my best.  At the same time, I recognize that I can not do it all.  I can’t accomplish every teaching goal I have this year.  I can’t improve everything at once.  I can’t solve all my problems immediately.  I need to allow myself time and space to develop as a teacher.  It is not an easy task — messing with kids’ lives makes it all seem very urgent.  Making a typo isn’t that big a deal in the “real” world but when I make a typo, 28 students think that’s the RIGHT way to spell that word and my mistake is magnified.  But, no one is perfect and we all need a little break.

So, summer is my break.  There is a summer goals meme floating around the Edusphere right now.  My summer goals are as follows:

  1. Write.  Write.  Write.  Write.
  2. Finish my kitchen/dining room.
  3. Finish my backyard.
  4. Get my house under control.
  5. Take advantage of the luxury of planning for next year since I know what I’ll be teaching (4th grade).
  6. Relax as much as possible.
  7. Spend time with my family.
  8. Try to get something published outside of my blog!
  9. Take care of all the doctor, dentist, vet, etc appointments my family has been putting off.
  10. Start exercising with something approaching regularity.

I know for a fact that 10 goals are about 5 too many but there you are.  My summer goals.  Sounds like a fun summer.  I still have one more day to go in and be a teacher — cleaning my classroom and checking out for the year.  But, Saturday morning, I turn off my alarm clock and I’m done with that noise until the end of August.

(I’ll still be the first one up most mornings, I’m sure!)

7 Responses to “Another year is over”

  1. jayne 12 June, 2008 at 2:42 am #

    You have my full admiration for what you do Liza. I could not do it. Teachers are just called in my book. They do it because it’s in their hearts. They could do nothing else. Know that you’ve touched so many lives in such a wonderful way. A well deserved vacation awaits you my friend. :c)

  2. jodyss 12 June, 2008 at 6:07 am #

    Congrats, sis! Do you know how proud I am of you? Also, let’s try to spend some time together this summer doing sister stuff, ‘kay? Love you.

  3. robin andrea 12 June, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    The whole summer spreads before you, for you to fill as you wish. I’m so happy for you, and I can’t wait to see how it all turns out.

    PS– That’s quite a fire up in Bonny Doon. Yikes.

  4. Lynne 12 June, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    Congratulations Liza! I also admire you for what you do for our kids. You have a hefty to-do list. Be sure to take a few moments on occasion to just “be still.”

  5. Trixie 12 June, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    I think there is something missing on the to-do list….hang with the kiddos in nature. Just a thought!

    Congratulations on being done! I hope you get to stay in the same classroom.

  6. mon@rch 12 June, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    I always remembered my last days of school! Wow . . . knowing I had the whole summer! Lucky kids!

  7. Mary 14 June, 2008 at 5:16 pm #

    Congratulations, Liza. Breathe. Don’t be so hard on yourself next year. Maybe you’ll relax a bit more? If my daughter were 5th grader, I’d love for her to have you as her teacher.

Leave a Reply

