Ruby Tuesday – Why am I still bird blogging?

1 Jul

Ruby on the hunt

Ruby is a very good girl.  She likes to do what she is supposed to do — even when that’s hard for her.  So, when Mike asked us to answer the question “Why are you still bird blogging?” Ruby thought long and hard about it.  Here is her answer.

I don’t bird blog, Mike.  I’m so sorry.  I’m a dog.  I can’t type.  I couldn’t blog about my bird watching — even if I wanted to do so.  And, honestly, I don’t want to blog about it.  I do, however, watch birds.  Watching birds is important.  I do it everyday.  I pay most careful attention to the birds on the ground.  They like to come under the feeders and scrounge for seeds and bugs and stuff.  I can’t blame them.  Those bird seeds are tasty and when my mom gives the birds a treat and puts out Zick Dough!  Wow oh wow!  Well, I sometimes scrounge with the birds!

You are probably wondering why I watch birds.  There is one simple reason.  I watch the birds to make sure they aren’t squirrels.  The birds are Mama’s Birds and I have to watch them.  The squirrels are the Devil’s Squirrels and I can chase them.  If I’m really good, I catch them.  And, I kill them.  Then they won’t steal Mama’s birdseed anymore.  So, I watch the birds.  Mama doesn’t like it when I chase the birds by mistake. She scolds me and says, “Don’t chase Mama’s birds.”  I don’t mean to but come on!  A California Towhee looks a lot like a squirrel tail. They both twitch around on the ground.  They both go after the seed.  The both flit away fast when they see me.  You can see how I confuse them, right?

Anyway, I don’t blog about birds but I do watch the birds.  I watch them alot.  If the weather is nice, I’ll watch them for hours.  I don’t know if its possible but it wouldn’t surprise me that a bird could turn into a squirrel.  So, I watch them.  Carefully.

11 Responses to “Ruby Tuesday – Why am I still bird blogging?”

  1. Lynne 1 July, 2008 at 5:37 am #

    It’s good to get inside Ruby’s head!

  2. KGMom 1 July, 2008 at 6:20 am #

    Love it–hearing Ruby’s voice over! And the pic–rapt attention gazing up the tree.
    Oh, Ruby–you are such a sweetie!

  3. Lily 1 July, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    Hey Ruby – Dis is Lily. Why watch birdies? They don’t hurt anything. I don’t even bother with squirrelies, not even if they throw almonds at me.

  4. Pam 1 July, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    This is too cute!! I *love* your trees, oh my, they’re so big and beautiful!!

  5. Trixie 2 July, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    Ruby is right, birds just *might* turn into squirrels. Good job, Ruby.

  6. mon@rch 2 July, 2008 at 5:44 pm #

    So, so funny! Ruby is a rock star doggy!

  7. Bobbie 3 July, 2008 at 2:56 am #

    This is such a great photo, Liza, and I enjoyed the text very much. Great post!

  8. jayne 3 July, 2008 at 3:04 am #

    Well said, Ruby girl!

  9. robin andrea 3 July, 2008 at 6:53 am #

    Such a good photo of Ruby and the trees.

  10. Larry Jordan 13 July, 2008 at 3:20 pm #

    Hey Liza,

    What an absolutely thought provoking and thoroughly amusing post…I love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I and the Bird #79: The Third Anniversary Edition - 10 July, 2008

    […] has actually written TWO posts for this edition of IATB (well, she claims one is written by her dog Ruby, who looks a smart hound but surely isn’t that clever?). Like all of us bloggers she has good reasons to blog. Go find […]

Leave a Reply

