Visit the Super Secret Meadow!

13 Jul

Igor, my wonderful stepfather, took me to the Super Secret Meadow.  I can’t tell you exactly where it is because then I’d have to kill you — it’s Super Secret!  I will tell you that it is where I saw the Red-breasted Sapsucker and heard the Sooty Grouse. The intrepid hikers for this adventure were me (behind the camera, as always), Gage (super hiker but tends to whine when near his mother), and the aforementioned, Igor (that’s really his name and no, his hump doesn’t move–although he will answer to Eye-gor!).

Gage Igor

The trail to the Super Secret Meadow (SSM) is steep, very steep.  For me, a short, difficult hike with a reward at the end, is way, way better than a long, easy hike from point A to point B.  No thank you.  Work, destination with reward, and home.  Thank you much!  And the SSM is definitely a reward!

Super-Secret Meadow

Isn’t it lovely?  We passed lots of loveliness on the way up, too.  At the SSM, we also saw signs of mammalian life.  Bear poop, coyote poop, and a big ol’ deer wallow with deer hair in it.  Gage, who came on the hike too, encouraged Igor to examine the coyote poop and see what he’d been eating.  Of course he did.  They found some sort of bone — Igor thought it might be a scapula off some creature.  I post these pictures because I know how Susan loves all things poop-related.  (My husband really can’t believe that I took a picture of bear poop!  You’d think he understood me better than that!)

Deer fur at wallow Coyote Poop
Deer hair in wallow; Coyote poop
Coyote poop being examined Bear Poop!
Coyote poop being examined; Bear poop

Okay, enough with the fauna.  On with the flora . . .

Iris

Wild Iris.  Don’t know exactly which one.

Columbine

Crimson columbine (Aquilegia formosa)

Blue Eye

California Blue-Eyed Grass (Sisyrinchium idahoense)

Sneeze Weed

Bigelow’s Sneezeweed (Helenium bigelovii)

Shooting Star

Shooting Star (Dodecatheon jeffreyi)

Tiger Lily

Leopard Lily (Lilium pardalinum)


some sort of daisy

Aster of some sort.  Love it’s intrepid “I’ll grow out of a sheer face of granite if I want to” nature.

Stonecrop

Sierra Stonecrop (Sedum obtusatum)

Dog's Bane

Dogbane (Apocynum androsaemifolium)

So, did you enjoy your visit to the Super Secret Meadow?  I know I did.  It was worth the steep hike.  It was worth the bloodthirsty mosquitos (who, no exaggeration, were an inch long and left welts all over my body!).  It was worth the fall I took when I was literally 5 steps from the flats again (just bruises and scrapes, no worries!).  It was worth my son whining at me that the flowers were boring!  🙂

But, the best part is that I still have a secret.  I’m not sharing the best part of the Super Secret Meadow with you.

Yet.

It’s a surprise that will have to wait a bit.  Stay tuned.  It’s worth it.  Promise!

15 Responses to “Visit the Super Secret Meadow!”

  1. jayne 13 July, 2008 at 4:07 am #

    I kept scrolling down expecting to see the meadow fairies! ;c) What a wonderful super secret place. Can’t wait to see the next surprise!

  2. Debbie 13 July, 2008 at 5:00 am #

    Ohhh, what a cool Super Secret Meadow! The flowers are gorgeous!

  3. Pam 13 July, 2008 at 5:01 am #

    Ohhh, what a cool Super Secret Meadow! The flowers are gorgeous!!
    P.S. and the last comment from “Debbie” is actually me!!

  4. Phyllis 13 July, 2008 at 6:04 am #

    pacific iris, i think. i bought some from a native plant seller via groworganic.com a few years ago. mine only bloom in spring, though!

    and mmmm poop!

  5. ...deb 13 July, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    I love the unfolding…I’m an Oregon hiker, and love scat and flowers. Nearly equally. It’s a secret which I like seeing more.

    Nice.

    The iris looks lighter than our in the Cascades. Ours is a deeper blue. We don’t get dogbane here (or I haven’t seen it.)

    Yours must be the sierra iris. If I can’t link here I’ll send you a twitter tinyurl to a link.

  6. robin andrea 13 July, 2008 at 6:29 am #

    Bear and coyote poop in one SSM! Yay.

    It looks so beautiful there. Amazing flowers. Love that crimson columbine.

    A surprise? I love a surprise.

  7. Anita Kaiser 13 July, 2008 at 6:31 am #

    What gorgeous photos! What a great read early on a Sunday morning!
    Thanks for sharing it!

  8. Lynne 13 July, 2008 at 6:37 am #

    It looks like a very special place. Thanks for showing us (even if you won’t tell where it is…)

  9. amarkonmywall 13 July, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    SSM! I love it! You really outdid yourself in this post, Liza. A beautiful balance between flora, fauna and scat. I think I’m partial to the stonecrop. 🙂

  10. Wende 13 July, 2008 at 3:18 pm #

    Fun! I mean, what’s not fun about flowers and poop? 😀

    Can’t wait for the surprise.

  11. Susan Gets Native 13 July, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    yay! Poop examination!

    : )
    Everyone needs a secret meadow.

  12. julie Zickefoose 14 July, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    I’m ready I’m ready I’m ready

    Fabulous flowers! and you can’t bore me with poop photos, Deputy Science Chimp!!

  13. Liza Lee Miller 15 July, 2008 at 5:19 am #

    I am SO glad you all like the Super Secret Meadow. It was a truly special place. Well worth the hike (and the fall) I took to get there. The iris may well be a Pacific Iris however, I checked on the CalFlora site where you can put in your county and it gives you a list of wildflowers in your county — just California. It came back with several irises that have been seen by people smarter about wildflowers than I am and the difference between them . . . well, I didn’t think I could judge it. So, . . . it’s a wild iris! 🙂 Thanks for the support guys!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Secret of the Super Secret Meadow « It’s just me - 15 July, 2008

    […] Come back with me to the Super Secret Meadow.  If you remember, we saw lots of wildflowers here but there were two wildflowers that I saved to share with you in a special way.  First of all, many of us read Julie Zickefoose’s blog and there is something Julie is well known for . . . no, not painting amazing pictures of birds, no, not Chet Baker, no, not her naughty parrot, no, not her amazing kids or garden or . . . yes, that’s right, orchids!  Julie has the most amazing orchids and has encouraged many of us to try growing orchids for ourselves. […]

Leave a Reply

