Ruby Tuesday – The Floor is Finished Edition

29 Jul

Kitchen Floor

Some of you no doubt remember this picture of the lovely Ruby showing off and matching our new flooring.  She did not cooperate for another picture on the new flooring.  Probably because an 8 yo and a 9 yo boy were trying to “help” with the process.  No fool she.  Still, I love the way she matches the floor.

floor finished

After a brief haitus, we got back to work and finished up the floor.  Greg would measure and tell me what size to cut, I used that saw you can see behind Greg and cut the boards.  When we couldn’t use the nailer anymore, too near the wall, I put glue on the boards before giving them to Greg.  The floor looks gorgeous!  The bamboo that we used [click] is incrediably hard.  Our heavy-duty nailer (borrowed from Greg’s uncle who is a contractor) worked great.  At places where the nailer wouldn’t work, glue was the only answer.  In the kitchen, Greg experimented with top nailing the boards in but it didn’t work, required pre-drilling, and didn’t give satisfying results.  I really can’t stress enough how hard this bamboo is.  Makes me feel good about having it as our flooring.

floor finished

This is after my Scooba finished cleaning it up for me yesterday.  Isn’t it lovely? It took it ages because of all the dust and debris from construction.  I had to empty the tank a couple of times and clean out all the vacuumed up debris.  I love the Scooba.  I would have whined and grumbled my way through cleaning it.  I’m not sure it’s a timesaver, however.  I found myself standing and watching it work.  🙂

next project started

Of course, we have never been able to bask in our success.  We are always on to the next project.  So, we started working at the edging around the door.  That’s the next thing to go . . . that ugly, gigantic, single pane glass slider.  Can’t wait to say good-bye to it.

8 Responses to “Ruby Tuesday – The Floor is Finished Edition”

  1. robin andrea 29 July, 2008 at 7:22 am #

    The floor looks beautiful, liza. I love that you do the cutting. I’m always intimidated by power tools, especially saws. I did get comfortable with the heavy-duty nail gun when we shingled our house in Washington.

  2. jodyss 29 July, 2008 at 7:40 am #

    Gorgeous!!!!

  3. KGMom 29 July, 2008 at 12:36 pm #

    You have no idea how much I covet Ruby Tuesday. I just LOVE her face. And so I sneak looks at the want ads to see if any breeders around here have Ruby Tuesdays!
    I think my dog would object.
    Of course, I also covet Chet Baker!

  4. Pam 29 July, 2008 at 4:06 pm #

    Wow Liza, this is gorgeous!! Congrats on finishing it!!

  5. jayne 30 July, 2008 at 2:41 am #

    It’s beautiful Liza!

  6. Mary Carlson 31 July, 2008 at 7:04 am #

    Your floor looks so good, Liza. You’ll eventually get the chance to just sit and enjoy it. It sure makes you appreciate your new floor even more when you “do it yourself.” And, like you said, now on to the next project.

  7. Mary 1 August, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    They’re beautiful. I have hardwood “sanded in place” and I hate them! They scratch easily and don’t shine the way I’d like them to. I had Bruce Hardwood in my other homes and they stayed looking fantastic. Michael knows I want new floors but….cha-ching.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My House Monday - An Long-Awaited Update « It’s just me - 26 October, 2008

    […] last we met [click], we had finished the flooring and then school was starting soon and . . . well, you can imagine […]

Leave a Reply

