A worthy cause

18 Sep

Sometimes a story just touches your heart.  This is one of those stories.  Lori is a writer and a single mom to a 7 year old son.  She has ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease) and is confined to a hospital bed unable to move or breath on her own.  Meanwhile, her house is in foreclosure because she is unable to work.  And, the Internets are helping her family . . .

Save Lori's House

3 Responses to “A worthy cause”

  1. amarkonmywall 19 September, 2008 at 5:18 am #

    Liza- You’re a very good sort to publicize this cause for Lori. The story makes me sad and it also makes me angry. Why should anyone in America be faced with this? It’s obscene, really, the whole business of medical bills, not to mention the housing/foreclosure mess. This story puts a real face on what’s wrong with this country. And then again- it puts real faces on what’s right. Can you imagine where we would be without the charity and kindness of others? Anyway- thank you for this post and the link.

  2. Susan Gets Native 19 September, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    I just wanted to tell everyone this is 100 percent legit. Geoff knows this woman and has written articles to help bring her story to the public.
    So if you have something to give, please do so. I just wish we could help everyone in the same plight.

  3. Liza Lee Miller 19 September, 2008 at 8:36 pm #

    Thanks for the support. I read about this on another website and went to the links posted and just felt so moved. Perhaps it’s having a son near that age myself that brings it home for me — I know my worst fear is leaving my children without me. I can’t imagine how terrified that poor woman is. 😦 Maybe my contribution will help ease that nightmare for her a little bit.

Leave a Reply

