Another Fun Day Birding

15 Nov

I went birding again in an unusual place.  My sister-in-law took us to a home in Capitola, California where a woman and her daughter run their own monthly used clothing (high-end, in spectacular condition) shop.  The clothing was fantastic and I did buy a few pieces.  However, I also fell in love with her garden.  She had delightful garden statuary everywhere mixed in with gorgeous flowers, fascinating succulents, and a particularly funny kitty.  You can look for stories on those topics later in the week.  The birds really caught my eye and I will say that I had an urge to cause a scene and then in the hubbub to steal several of them.   I had a very strong jealousy of this lovely garden — I would very much like to have the same sense of beauty and whimsy in my own too-long-ignored garden.

Birds in Capitola

This LBB was especially endearing — isn’t it sweet the way it’s hiding behind the wire?

More birds

Last time I couldn’t tell a goldfinch from a sparrow so I’m not going to give even a guess at IDing these sweet, little vine dwelling darlings.

More birds

More sweet little birds.  One is too shy to look but the other is giving direct eye contact.  Amazing.

Any ideas on IDing these unusual birds will be quite welcome!  Thanks!

3 Responses to “Another Fun Day Birding”

  1. Pam 16 November, 2008 at 5:30 am #

    I love those birds! And a good slightly used clothing shop – nothing like it! We have a couple here, and I love it when someone (rich) my size brings in a pile of clothes!

  2. bevson 17 November, 2008 at 4:36 am #

    I am very fond of yard art. I have a few pieces but lugging them in and out of the garage for the winter is such a pain, I don’t always put them out. That bird piece is wonderful.

  3. Larry Jordan 27 November, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    Hey Liza, I think you got the top one right, it is definitely an LBB. And I believe the two in the middle photo are Red-breasted Vine Clingers. The bottom photo is a bit tougher, but I’m going with Rock Dove.

Leave a Reply

